Ex-gov't officials back Mayor Isko's 2022 presidential bid

Published October 6, 2021, 3:07 PM

by Jaleen Ramos

Former government senior officials from different administrations have joined hands to back Manila Mayor Francisco “Isko Moreno” Domagoso’s presidential bid in the 2022 national elections.


In a statement on Wednesday, Oct. 6, the Former Government Executives Alliance for Heroism and Democracy (FORGE AHEAD) said the pursuit of innovative solutions, reforms, and best practices of Domagoso was among the main reasons why it has decided to support him.

FORGE AHEAD is composed of former undersecretaries, assistant secretaries, chairpersons, commissioners of various offices, and senior directors

“Today, more than ever, we believe that your brand of leadership is what is needed by the country,” said former Government Corporate counsel and Transportation Undersecretary Atty. Raoul Creencia.

On Sept. 29, the members of FORGE AHEAD met with Domagaso and his running mate Dr. Willie Ong, and discussed various government policies.

“Government executives who are carefully chosen to do a particular job will, based on our experience, put their heart and soul into their work,” Creencia said.

“They will spend every working day dedicating the best of themselves to the government and to the people,” she added.

Domagoso, meanwhile, said senior officials should be guided by “clear policies”.

He added the bureaucracy will smoothly run if there is a corps of dedicated public officials.

Also present in the meeting were former Transportation Undersecretaries Tim Orbos and Cesar Chavez who facilitated the meeting.

The Bedan Lawyers, headed by Atty. Cynthia Roxas, also joined the meeting to express their support to the Manila mayor.

Other members of the FORGE AHEAD are former Governance Commission for GOCCs Commissioner Rainier Butalid; former Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board Chair Winston Ginez; former National Privacy Commission President Gladys Sta. Rita; former Energy Regulatory Commission Chairperson Jovy Salazar; former Education Assistant Secretary Emilio Abelita; for Justice Secretary Geronimo Sy; former Information and Communications Technology Allan Cabanlog; former Masbate City Prosecutor Eduardo Legaspi; former Justice Executive Martin Menez; former Transportation Secretary Raine Robinson; and former National Defense Director Gladys Velasco.