BI implements travel ban on 4 countries

Starting tomorrow (Sept. 19, the Bureau of Immigration (BI) will implement the temporary travel ban of passengers coming from four countries as part of the program of minimizing the spread of coronavirus disease, particularly the delta variant.

BI Commissioner Jaime Morente identified them as Grenada, Papua New Guinea, Serbia, and Slovenia.

The BI chief said the travel ban was ordered by the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF) which also covered travellers who have been in the said countries within the last 14 days prior to their arrival to the Philippines.

The travel restrictions will be until Sept. 30

Meanwhile, the BI released the updated list of countries wherein passengers may be allowed entry subject to the usual quarantine protocols.

They are American Samoa, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cayman Islands, Chad, China, Comoros, Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Falkland Islands, Gabon, Hong Kong (Special Administrative Region of China), Hungary, Madagascar, Mali, Federated States of Micronesia, Montserrat, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niger, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau.

They also include Poland, Saba (Special Municipality of the Kingdom of Netherlands), Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Sierra Leone, Sint Eustatius, Taiwan, Algeria, Bhutan, Cook Islands, Eritrea, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Nicaragua, Niue, North Korea, Saint Helena, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Sudan, Syria, Tajikstan, Tanzania, Tokelau, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, and Yemen.

Morente said that countries not mentioned in the new list are considered "moderate risk" and may also allowed entry.