Over 1,700 kilometers of roads, hundreds of bridges built in Calabarzon since 2016--DPWH

It started with a 10-kilometer Laguna Lake Highway in the eastern corridor of Metro Manila in 2016 and will now end with additional 1,764 kilometers built roads to improve Calabarzon's road network.

Laguna Lake Highway (Photo courtesy of the DPWH)

A total of 1,764 kilometers of roads have been either constructed, maintained, widened, upgraded, and rehabilitated in the region since 2016. These are couples with 467 individual bridges.

Aside from roads and bridges, a total of 893 flood mitigation structures and 18,278 classrooms were also constructed in the region which covers the provinces of Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Rizal, and Quezon.

Various diversion roads have been implemented in the region over the last five years. Some of these are the Sariaya Bypass, Alaminos-San Pablo City Bypass, Tayabas Bypass Road, Tagaytay Bypass Road, Kaykulot Diversion Road, Star Tollway-Pinamucan Bypass Road, and Batangas City-San Pascual-Bauan Diversion Road.

Sariaya Bypass is a 7.42 km Sariaya bypass road which starts at MSR Daang Maharlika Road and ends at the Quezon Ecotourism Road. It also leads to the province's famed Mt. Banahaw and serves as an alternate route for motorists going from Sariaya to Lucena. This road has reduced the traffic volume along Daang Maharlika and Manila South Road by 40 percent, the DPWH said.

Alaminos-San Pablo City Bypass is a 12.85-kilometer road that starts at the junction of Pan Philippine Highway, traversing the junction of Alaminos-Lipa City Road up to Barangay San Vicente, San Pablo City. It was partially opened last March 15.

Tayabas Bypass Road is a 6.05-kilometer road that serves as an alternate route to motorists coming from the provinces of Quezon and Bicol through the Pagsanjan-Sta Cruz-Los Banos-Calamba corridor. It will also provide a direct route from Lucena and Tayabas towards Sariaya, Candelaria and San Juan, saving as much as 30 minutes of travel time. This road is also part of the Luzon Spine Expressway Network.

Tagaytay Bypass Road is an 8.6-kilometer road that will connect two national roads-- Indang Alfonso Road via Luksuhin Road and Tagaytay-Batangas Arterial Highway. It was partially opened in October 2020. Once fully completed, it will reduce travel time from Alfonso to Tagaytay from 53 minutes to only 33 minutes.

Kaykulot Diversion Road is 1.7-kilometer long that will connect Sta. Rosa-Ulat-Tagaytay Road and Tagaytay-Laguna via Calamba Road. It also serves as a tourism road leading to Tagaytay's Picnic Grove or People’s Park in The Sky.

The Star Tollway-Pinamucan Bypass Road is a 19-kilometer bypass road that will connect Pinamucan in Batangas City to Star Tollway, easing current traffic congestion within Batangas. It is expected to cut travel time by as much as 50 minutes. It will also provide alternate access from Star Tollway towards Taysan and Lobo, Batangas via Batangas–Lobo Road and Batangas–Tabangao–Lobo Road.

Batangas City-San Pascual-Bauan Diversion Road is a 10.88-kilometer road project that aims to reduce travel between Batangas City to Bauan from 2 hours to only 30 minutes.

Expressways and long roads leading to tourist destinations are also part of the improvement of the region's road network. Some of the key infrastructure projects include the 22-kilometer Lobo - Malabrigo - Laiya - San Juan Road which will connect the municipalities of San Juan and Lobo in Batangas; and the East West Expressway which is 41.67-kilometer long that will link the missing gaps between the Cavite - Batangas Road in the East and Ternate - Nasugbu Road in the West. It will traverse the municipalities of Silang, Amadeo, Indang, Maragondon, General Aguinaldo, Magallanes in Cavite and Nasugbu in Batangas.