CA Justice Dimaampao appointed Supreme Court associate justice

Published September 14, 2021, 6:06 PM

by Rey Panaligan 

Associate Justice Japaar B. Dimaampao

President Duterte has appointed Court of Appeals (CA) Associate Justice Japaar B. Dimaampao as associate justice of the Supreme Court (SC).

Justice Dimaampao filled up the post vacated by then Associate Justice Alexander G. Gesmundo who was appointed Chief Justice and head of the judiciary last April 5.

A copy of Dimaampao’s appointment was released by the SC’s public information office (PIO) on Tuesday, Sept. 14.

Born in Marawi City on Dec. 27, 1963, Dimaampao is expected to serve the SC until 2033 when he turns 70 years old, the mandatory retirement age for members of the judiciary.

Also a certified public accountant, he is a known expert on taxation and commercial law.

He was a former prosecutor and judge of the regional trial court. He was appointed to the CA in 2003 at age 40, the youngest to be appointed to the second highest court of the land.

The appointment of Dimaampao was the President’s 17th since 2016.

The President had earlier appointed Associate Justices Samuel R. Martires (who retired to assume the post of Ombudsman), Noel G. Tijam (retired), Andres B. Reyes Jr. (retired), Gesmundo, Jose C. Reyes Jr. (retired), Ramon Paul L. Hernando, Rosmari D. Carandang, Edgardo L. Delos Santos (retired), Priscilla J. Baltazar Padilla (retired), Amy C. Lazaro Javier, Henri Jean Paul B. Inting, Rodil V. Zalameda, Mario V. Lopez, Samuel H. Gaerlan, Ricardo R. Rosario, and Jhosep Y. Lopez.

Aside from Gesmundo, the President had also appointed three Chief Justices – Lucas P. Bersamin, Teresita J. Leonardo de Castro, and Diosdado M. Peralta.

There still is a vacancy in the 15-member SC – the post left by Delos Santos on opted for early retirement last June 30 on health reasons.

With the appointment of Dimaampao, there are now only six nominees named by the Judiciary and Bar Council (JBC) to the post vacated by Delos Santos. The list of nominees was submitted to the President last Aug. 27.

Nominated were CA Associate Justices Ramon R. Cruz and Maria Filomena D. Singh; Sandiganbayan Presiding Justice Amparo M. Cabotaje Tang and Associate Justice Geraldine Faith A. Econg; and Court Administrator Jose Midas P. Marquez and Deputy Court Administrator Raul B. Villanueva.