BTS wins 3 awards at 2021 MTV VMAs

BTS won Group of the Year at 2021 VMAs (Screenshot from VMA video) 

K-pop superstars and Grammy nominees BTS won three awards at the 2021 MTV Video Music Awards (VMAs) held on Sept. 12 from Barclays Center in Brooklyn.

BTS bagged Group of the Year, Best K-pop and Song of Summer for “Butter.” This is their third straight year to win Group of the Year.

“Thank you VMAs for the Group of the Year award," said Jimin in a video with RM adding ARMY, this is all possible thanks to you guys. We really love every minute and second" and Suga saying, "We love you and we miss you."

Other nominees for Group of the Year were CNCO, BLACKPINK, Silk Sonic, Foo Fighters, Jonas Brothers, Maroon 5 and Twenty One Pilots.

BTS also won Best K-pop for “Butter,” also their third consecutive year to win the award. Other nominees this year were (G)I-DLE for “Dumdi Dumdi,” BLACKPINK and Selena Gomez for “Ice Cream,” Monsta X for “Gambler,” Seventeen for “Ready to love” and TWICE for “Alcohol-Free.”

In addition, BTS grabbed the Song of Summer award, edging out 15 other nominees this year.

The K-pop idol group earned other nominations at the 2021 VMAs. They were nominated for Song of the Year for “Dynamite” and Best Pop for “Butter.”

In addition, “Butter” was nominated for Best Choreography courtesy of Son Sung with BHM Performance Directing Team, and Best Editing courtesy of Yong Seok Choi from Lumpens.

Here are the winners at the 2021 MTV Video Music Awards:

Group of the Year - BTS

Best K-pop - BTS: “Butter”

Song of Summer - BTS: “Butter”

Video of the Year - Lil Nas X: “Montero (Call Me By Your Name)”

Artist of the Year - Justin Bieber

Song of the Year - Olivia Rodrigo: “Drivers License”

Best New Artist - Olivia Rodrigo

Push Performance of the Year - Olivia Rodrigo – “drivers license”

Best Collaboration - Doja Cat ft. SZA: “Kiss Me More”

Video For Good - Billie Eilish: “Your Power” – Darkroom / Interscope Records

Best Pop - Justin Bieber: “Peaches”

Best Hip-Hop - Travis Scott ft. Young Thug & M.I.A.: “Franchise”

Best Alternative - Machine Gun Kelly ft. blackbear – “my ex’s best friend”

Best Latin - Billie Eilish & Rosalía: “Lo Vas A Olvidar”

Global Icon Award - Foo Fighters

Best Cinematography - Beyoncé, Blue Ivy, SAINt JHN, WizKid: “Brown Skin Girl” – Cinematography by: Benoit Soler, Malik H. Sayeed, Mohammaed Atta Ahmed, Santiago Gonzalez, Ryan Helfant

Best Choreography - Harry Styles: “Treat People With Kindness” (choreography: Paul Roberts)

Best R&B - Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak, Silk Sonic: “Leave the Door Open”

Best Direction - Lil Nas X: “Montero (Call Me By Your Name)” – Directed by: Lil Nas X and Tanu Muino

Best Rock - John Mayer: “Last Train Home”

Best Editing - Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak, Silk Sonic: “Leave the Door Open” – Aftermath Entertainment/Atlantic Records – Editing by: Troy Charbonnet

Best Visual Effects - Lil Nas X: “Montero (Call Me By Your Name)” – Visual Effects by: Mathematic
Best Art Direction - Saweetie ft. Doja Cat: “Best Friend” – Art Direction by: Alec Contestabile