Duterte appoints appellate justices, trial court judges, LEB members

Published August 27, 2021, 9:22 AM

by Rey Panaligan 

Supreme Court

One associate justice each for the Court of Appeals (CA) and the Court of Tax Appeals (CTA), 18 trial court judges in Metro Manila, and three members of the Legal Education Board (LEB) have been appointed by President Duterte.

The appointments were transmitted to Chief Justice Alexander G. Gesmundo by Executive Secretary Salvador C. Medialdea

Appointed to the CA was Associate Justice Alfonso Carbonel Ruiz II. He took the post vacated by Associate Justice Mario V. Lopez who was promoted to the Supreme Court (SC).

Associate Justice Marian Ivy Ferrer Reyes was named to the CTA. She filled up the vacant post left with the retirement of Associate Justice Esperanza R. Fabon Victorino.

Appointed trial court judges and their stations were Noel L. Parel, regional trial court (RTC) Branch 106, Quezon City; Rochelle Yvette D. Galano, RTC, Branch 105, Quezon City; Mary Ann T. Punzalan Toribio, RTC, Branch 99, Quezon City; Tomas Eduardo B. Maddela III, RTC, Branch 205, Pasig City; Caron Aicitel E. Lascano, RTC, Branch 100, Pasig City;

Manuel Gerardo C. Tomacruz, RTC Branch 158, Pasig City; Marjury A. Madrid Songgadan, RTC Branch 117, Pasay City; Jesus Angelito Y. Huertas Jr., RTC Branch 261, Pasig City; Abraham Joseph B. Alcantara, RTC Branch 204, Muntinlupa City; Karen A. Matty Sy, RTC Branch 145, Makati City; Analie B. Oga Brual, RTC Branch 138, Makati City;

Lovely Concepcion C. Matillano Chavez, RTC Branch 57, Makati City; Rebecca A. Guillen Ubana, RTC Branch 40, Manila; Sheryll D. Tulabing, RTC Branch 28, Manila; Victor R. Aguba, RTC Branch 255, Las Pinas City; Anne Beatrice G. Aguana Balmaceda, RTC Branch 200, Las Pinas City; Primo Elvin L. Siosana, RTC Branch 128, Caloocan City; and Rodrigo F. Pascua Jr., RTC branch 122, Caloocan City.

Appointed to the LEB were Anna Marie Melanie Bacani Trinidad, chairperson; Lorenzo Regallana Reyes as member representing the Integrated Bar of the Philippines, and Alexander Diamla Dumpa as member representing the Law Students’ Sector. All of them will serve until Jan. 14, 2024.

The LEB was set up by Republic Act No. 7662, the Legal Education Reform Act of 1993, to uplift the standards of legal education in the country.