Senators pledge cash gifts for Olympic medalists

Published August 23, 2021, 6:55 PM

by Vanne Elaine Terrazola

Members of the Senate have pledged to give Filipino athletes cash rewards for their historic feat in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

Tokyo Olympics gold medalist Hidilyn Diaz (AFP)

Senate Majority Leader Juan Miguel Zubiri made the disclosure during the chamber’s plenary session on Monday, August 23.

“Each senator, for the record, Mr. President, under your instruction, donated P100,000 per member and it will be given to our winners,” Zubiri said, addressing Senate President Vicente Sotto III.

According to Zubiri, they have agreed to give P1 million to Olympic gold medalist Hidilyn Diaz; P500,000 to silver medalists Nesthy Petecio and Carlo Paalam; and P300,000 for bronze medalist Eumir Marcial.

“Yes,” Senate Minority Leader Franklin Drilon confirmed.

“Whatever balance s needed to complete the price should be charged against the budget of the Senate Majority Leader (Zubiri),” he also jested.

Zubiri said the four Olympic medalists are expected to physically come to the Senate on Wednesday, August 25, to receive the chamber’s commendations.

Before this, the Senate adopted the resolution that would establish the “Medal of Excellence” award for outstanding Filipinos.

“Maybe we can put this to a vote…that the four medal winners, Hidilyn Diaz, Carlo Paalam, Eumir Marcial as well as Nesthy Petecio be the first recipients of this medal,” Zubiri proposed.