Duterte signs energy research institute law; new body to be housed in UP

Published August 2, 2021, 4:28 PM

by Argyll Cyrus Geducos

President Duterte has signed into law the measure establishing the Philippine Energy Research and Policy Institute (PERPI).

President Duterte (Malacañng photo)

Duterte signed Republic Act (RA) No. 11572 on July 30, 2021.

The new law sought to bridge the research and policy gap in the energy sector and push reforms that will directly benefit the Filipino people.

In his press briefing on Monday, August 2, Presidential Spokesman Harry Roque said the PERPI will be an attached agency of the University of the Philippines (UP).

“Ang Institute ay magiging isang independent agency attached sa Pamantasan ng Pilipinas (The Institute will be an independent agency attached to UP),” he said.

Under the law, PERPI will have its own Advisory Council consisting of 10 members headed by an executive director who is a recognized expert in energy policy and research.

The Institute will include five ex-officio members, namely the secretaries of the departments of Energy (DOE), Environment and Natural Resources (DENR), and Science and Technology (DOST); the National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA) director-general; and the UP President.

The five remaining members of the Council shall be selected by the UP President each representing any of the fields of engineering, law, science, statistics, economic, social science and public health.

PERPI is expected to provide timely technical and strategic assistance to the government, energy regulators and Congress, on energy-related matters requiring policy direction and advice.

It shall also serve as a medium in bringing together local and international experts in the field of energy through local and international linkages.

Meanwhile, the bill sought the establishment of mechanisms for dissemination and utilization of research for technology and policy development, create and administer training programs and provide appropriate fellowship grants for capacity building of the academe and energy stakeholders.