NCCA SUDI Awards to honor outstanding contributions to Filipino music this August

Published July 28, 2021, 9:16 PM

by Manila Bulletin Entertainment

NCCA SUDI Awards Technical Working Group and NCCA Secretariat (from left, front): Ryan Cayabyab, Twinky D. Lagdameo, Isabelle Tee;(back) Mike L. Constantino, Bayang Barrios, Ma. Dinah Aguilar Remolacio, Noel Ferrer, Dr. Felipe de Leon Jr., Nino Selibio, and Ferdinand Isleta.

Aiming to recognize outstanding contributions of Filipino musical works, creators, institutions, and researchers across genres and modes of productions with the highest standard and artistic excellence, the National Commission for Culture and the Arts is launching the 1st NCCA SUDI Awards.

For its launch year, 2020, the SUDI Awards will recognize and honor the 19
outstanding musical achievements (whether artist, musical piece, journal, music cultural worker, or music institution, but not limited to) that defined the last 20 years or past two decades.

For the first decade covering the years 2000 to 2009, there will be 9 awardees and three special citations while the second decade covers the years 2010 to 2020 and will have 10 awardees and five special citations.

The awarding ceremony for the 1st NCCA SUDI Awards will be livestreamed via NCCA’s official Facebook page and YouTube channel (@NCCAOfficial) in two parts on Aug. 21 and Aug. 28 at 7 p.m.

The award’s concept came from National Artist for Literature and former NCCA chairman, Dr. Virgilio Almario. NCCA’s Technical Working Group, chaired by Noel Ferrer, initiated the whole awarding process. The word “SUDI”, which is an Ilocano adjective meaning illustrious, renowned, celebrated, or famous, was proposed by Dr. Felipe M. de Leon Jr., a member of the technical working group and head of the NCCA National Committee on Music.

Aside from de Leon, the members of the Technical Working Group for this National Music Awards is also composed of National Artist for Music Ryan Cayabyab, Dinah Remolacio, Michelle Therese “Twinky’ Lagdameo, Mike Constantino and Bayang Barrios.

Under its current chairman, Arsenio “Nick” Lizaso, the NCCA is spearheading the realization of the SUDI Awards with the help of executive director Al Ryan S. Alejandre, deputy executive director Marichu G. Tellano, and supervising officer on administration Bernan Joseph R. Corpuz, through its Plan/Policy Formulation and Programming Division (P/PFPD) – Arts Section headed by Ferdinand Isleta.

A credible jury was tasked to review the body of work and/or significant contribution of the nominees’ that ultimately formed the 19 significant musical achievements that defined Philippine music during the years 2000-2019 while still adhering to the highest standards of excellence (in form and in content) and even in audience reception and patronage.

In succeeding years, excellent and significant musical contributions (whether artist, musical piece, journal, music cultural worker, or music institution, but not limited to) shall be recognized triennially.

Learn more about the NCCA SUDI National Music Awards and the list of awardees.