(UPDATE No.1) DPWH: 13 roads in NCR, other parts of Luzon closed to traffic due to monsoon rains

Published July 25, 2021, 2:47 PM

by Ellson Quismorio

The heavy downpour triggered by the southwest monsoon has forced the closure of 13 road sections in the National Capital Region (NCR) and the rest of Luzon, the Department of Public Works Highways (DPWH) said Sunday, July 25.

(Photo from DPWH Facebook page)

Based on a 12 p.m. advisory, the following roads in NCR or Metro Manila have been closed to motorists due to floods: G. Araneta Avenue corner Maria Clara and Sto. Domingo Avenue corner Calamba both in Quezon City; Mel Lopez Blvd., corner Moriones Street, and corner C-2 Road in Manila; Mac Arthur Highway, Pio Valenzuela Street to Elysian Street in Valenzuela City; and Don Basilio Bautista Street (Gen Luna St. to Dampalit Bridge), C. Arellano Street (Pasez Street to Sacritia Street), and M.H. del Pilar Street, Yanga Street to San Vicente Village, Corner E. Rodriguez Street, and Buenaventura Street- Arkong Bato in the Malabon – Navotas area.

The DPWH’s Highways Bureau of Maintenance earlier reported Sunday that six road sections, including three in the Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR) alone, have been closed to traffic.

These are the Baguio-Bontoc Road K0362+600, Busa Bridge in Sabangan, Mt. Province due to bridge damage; Abra – Kalinga Road, K0489+900 in Gacab, Malibcong, Abra due to soil and rock collapse; and Gov. Bado Dangwa National Road, K0310+150, Poblacion, Kibungan, Benguet due to rock collapse.

The Junction Layac Balanga Mariveles Port Road Zigzag Section K0160+000 in Bataan was also not passable due to collapsed solid wheelguard, while Manila Cavite Road K0015+(-207) – K0020+000 in Cavite remained closed because of flooding.

The flood along Roxas Boulevard in Manila on Sunday, July 25, 2021. (Ali Vicoy/ MANILA BULLETIN)

In Occidental Mindoro, the Mindoro West Coastal Road, Pag-asa Section in Sablayan, Occidental Mindoro still could not be traversed by vehicles due to washed out box culvert.

The DPWH identified at 7 a.m. Sunday four road sections that were “not passable to light vehicles” due to floods caused by the torrential rains.

These are Apalit Macabebe Masantol Road, K0057+700-K0063+400 at Intermittent Sections in Pampanga; Bigaa Plaridel via Bulacan and Malolos (Panginay Section) K0030+500-K0032+000 and Manila North Road Saluysoy Section, K0019+200- K0019+500 in the Province of Bulacan; Lemery-Taal Diversion Road K0128+(1045) – K0128+(- 300) in Batangas; and the Cavite-Batangas Road K0018+(-544) – K0018+943 section in Cavite.

The agency said in its latest advisory that a total of 51 equipment and 338 maintenance personnel have been deployed to the affected areas for declogging works and clearing operations.