Iloilo province, Iloilo City, 2 others move to ECQ until July 31

Published July 16, 2021, 1:59 PM

by Argyll Cyrus Geducos

The government’s pandemic task force has escalated the risk classification of Iloilo Province and Iloilo City to the enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) until the end of the month.

The complex of the Iloilo Provincial Capitol. (Tara Yap/Manila Bulletin)

Presidential Spokesman Harry Roque made the statement a day after announcing the community quarantine classifications of different areas of the country from July 16 to 31, 2021.

In a statement, Roque said the Inter-agency Task Force (IATF) for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases escalated the risk classification of Iloilo Province and Iloilo City from modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) to ECQ.

The two areas were originally placed under MECQ until July 22 until it was changed on Friday, July 16.

Cagayan de Oro was also escalated to ECQ until the end of the month from its original MECQ classification.

The City of Gingoog in the province of Misamis Oriental was likewise placed under ECQ until the end of the month.

Meanwhile, the general community quarantine (GCQ) with heightened restrictions classification of Antique has been extended from July 22, 2021, to July 31, 2021.

Misamis Oriental, which was under the modified general community quarantine (MGCQ) until July 31, 2021, was moved to GCQ with heightened restrictions until the end of the month.

According to Roque, the reclassification was made upon the recommendations of the Department of Health, its Technical Advisory Group, and the Technical Working Group on COVID-19 Variants.

On Thursday, July 15, Roque announced the new quarantine classifications for July 16 to 31. This included Metro Manila being placed under the normal GCQ.