PH declares 10 days of national mourning for Aquino

Published June 24, 2021, 8:51 PM

by Genalyn Kabiling

Starting June 24, the country will observe a 10-day period of national mourning following the death of former President Benigno S. Aquino III based on latest order of President Duterte.

A Malacañang file photo shows President Benigno S. Aquino III taking at the Pasig River from the Palace window on the final day in 2016

Aquino, the country’s popular president from 2010 to 2016, died on Thursday at the age of 61. The cause of death was renal disease secondary to diabetes, according to the family.

READ: Former President Aquino passes away at 61

“President Rodrigo Roa Duterte signed today Proclamation No. 1169, declaring June 24, 2021 to July 3, 2021 as a Period of National Mourning over the passing of former President Benigno Simeon C. Aquino III,” Presidential spokesman Harry Roque said in a statement.

“In this regard, the national flag shall be flown at half-mast from sunrise to sunset on all government buildings and installations throughout the Philippines and abroad for a period of ten (10) days,” he said.

READ: Duterte: Aquino gave his best to serve Filipinos

The Palace also appealed anew for prayers for the late President. “Let us continue to pray and pay respects to the former President who gave his best to serve our nation and our people,” Roque said.

In a speech at the Palace, the President expressed sadness over the death of Aquino and offered his condolences to the family. He likewise thanked Aquino for his service to the country, saying he hopes Filipinos will be inspired by his legacy.

“I offer my heartfelt condolences to the Aquino family. Be assured of the government’s assistance in this period of mourning and, above all, please accept the love and the prayers of a grateful nation,” Duterte said.

READ: Duterte offers gov’t assistance to Aquino family