Davao City, Gen San shift to stricter quarantine status on June 5

Published June 4, 2021, 11:55 AM

by Argyll Cyrus Geducos

The Inter-agency Task Force (IATF) for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases has placed Davao City and General Santos City under stricter quarantine classifications due to the rise of cases of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19).

Presidential spokesperson Harry Roque (OPS / FILE PHOTO / MANILA BULLETIN)

In a statement, Presidential Spokesman Harry Roque said Davao City will be under the modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) from June 5 to June 20, 2021.

Meanwhile, the IATF approved the general community quarantine (GCQ) status of General Santos City from June 5 to June 30, 2021.

Before this development, Davao City was under GCQ while General Santos City was under modified GCQ (MGCQ), the least strict of the four quarantine classifications.

Metro Manila, Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, and Rizal, collectively known as the National Capital Region-plus (NCR-plus) bubble area, is under GCQ with restrictions until June 15, 2021.

Other areas under GCQ for the entire month of June are the following:

  • Baguio City
  • Kalinga
  • Mountain Province
  • Abra
  • Isabela
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Quirino
  • Batangas
  • Quezon
  • Iligan City
  • Lanao del Sur
  • Cotabato City

Meanwhile, the following areas are still under MECQ from June 1 to 15:

  • City of Santiago, Isabela
  • Cagayan
  • Apayao
  • Benguet
  • Ifugao
  • Puerto Princesa City
  • Iloilo City
  • Zamboanga City
  • Zamboanga Sibugay
  • Zamboanga del Sur
  • Zamboanga del Norte
  • Cagayan de Oro City
  • Butuan City
  • Agusan del Sur

The rest of the country is under MGCQ for the month of June.