MECQ in NCR+ extended until May 14

Published April 28, 2021, 9:50 PM

by Argyll Cyrus Geducos

President Duterte has extended the modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) in the National Capital Region-plus (NCR-plus) bubble area until May 14, 2021 days after the country reached its millionth coronavirus (COVID-19) case this week.

President Duterte (RTVM Screenshot)

Duterte made the statement two days before the existing MECQ in NCR, Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, and Rizal expires on April 30.

In his pre-recorded public address on Wednesday, Duterte announced that the NCR-plus bubble area will still be under the MECQ until May 14, 2021.

The City of Santiago in Isabela, the province of Quirino, and the province of Abra in the Cordillera Administrative Region are also under MECQ until the end of May.

The following areas, meanwhile, are under the general community quarantine (GCQ) until May 31, 2021:

  • Apayao
  • Baguio City
  • Benguet
  • Ifugao
  • Kalinga
  • Mountain Province
  • Cagayan
  • Isabela
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Batangas
  • Quezon Province
  • Tacloban City
  • Iligan City
  • Davao City
  • Lanao del Sur

Meanwhile, the rest of the Philippines will be placed under the modified GCQ (MGCQ) until the end of May. However, the government will be paying “special attention” to high-risk areas in Luzon, Western Visayas, and the Zamboanga Peninsula.

The said quarantine classifications, however, were still subject to the appeals of their respective local governments.

The country logged 6,895 new COVID-19 cases on Wednesday, April 28, bringing the total number of infections in the country to 1,020,495. Of the said figure, 67,769 were still sick.

Meanwhile, the country has recorded 935,695 individuals who recovered from COVID-19 while 17,031 died.