Valdez, Santiago lead tryout cast

Published April 21, 2021, 1:21 PM

by Kristel Satumbaga-Villar

Alyssa Valdez and Jaja Santiago banner the list of elite athletes the Philippine National Volleyball Federation (PNVF) has invited to participate in a three-day tryout for the national team late this month.

Forty male and forty female players are invited in indoor volleyball while 20 male and 20 female for beach volleyball.

PNVF President Tats Suzara said they are prioritizing its elite or high-performance initiatives through the association’s National Team Commission.

The teams will be focusing on the country’s participation in the 31st Southeast Asian Games in Vietnam late this year.

The tryouts will be held under a bubble-type setup on April 28 to 29 at the Subic Gym for indoor volleyball and April 30 at the Subic Tennis Courts for beach volleyball.

Health and safety protocols that include RT-PCR test 48 hours before the tryouts will be followed.

Invited players for women’s indoor team aside from Valdez and Santiago are setters Rhea Dimaculangan, Kim Fajardo, Alohi Robins, Jia Morado, Jasmine Nabor, and Kamille Cal, as well as outside hitters Myla Pablo, Kalei Mau, Ces Molina, Kat Tolentino, Faith Nisperos, Ivy Lacsina, Michaela Belen and Angel Canino.

Opposite players who were extended invitations are Jovelyn Gonzaga, Mylene Paat, Dindin Santiago-Manabat, MJ Philips, Kianna Dy, Eya Laure, Alyssa Solomon and Alleliah Malaluan, as well as middle blockers Aby Maraño, Risa Sato, Majoy Baron, Dell Palomata, Ria Meneses, Bea De Leon, Maddie Madayag, Marist Layug, Imee Hernandez, Thea Gagate and Lorene Toring.

Liberos invited are Denden Lazaro-Revilla, Dawn Macandili, Kath Arado, Jennifer Nierva and Bernadette Pepito.

Marck Espejo and Bryan Bagunas, meanwhile, banner the invited players in men’s indoor that also include members of the 2019 team that won the historic silver in the 30th SEAG in Manila like skipper John Vic De Guzman, Joshua Retamar, Jessie Lopez, Ish Polvorosa, Jack Kalingking, and Mark Alfafara, to name a few.

Notable beach volleyball players invited are Sisi Rondina, Bernadeth Pons, Dzi Gervacio, Tin Tiamzon, Jude Garcia, Jaron Requinton, Ranran Abdilla, Greg Dolor, Jade Becaldo, to name a few.

PNVF has also extended its invitation to beach volleyball junior players.