SC members in SET, HRET named by CJ Gesmundo

Published April 14, 2021, 11:34 AM

by Rey Panaligan 

Chief Justice Alexander G. Gesmundo has re-organized the Supreme Court’s (SC) memberships in the Senate Electoral Tribunal (SET) and in the House of Representatives Electoral Tribunal (HRET).

Justice Alexander G. Gesmundo
(Supreme Court website / FILE PHOTO)

Senior Associate Justice Estela M. Perlas Bernabe still heads the SET. The members are Associate Justices Alfredo Benjamin S. Caguioa and Ramon Paul L. Hernando (new member).

HRET is still headed by Associate Justice Marvic M.V.F. Leonen with Associate Justices Rosmari D. Carandang and Amy C. Lazaro Javier as new members.

The two electoral tribunals adjudicate cases on election, returns and qualifications of the two Houses of Congress.

SET members, based on Google search, are Sens. Richard J. Gordon, Maria Lourdes S. Binay, Pia S. Cayetano, Emmanuel D. Pacquiao, Manuel M. Lapid, and Francis N. Pangilinan.

Also based on Google search, HRET members are Reps. Dale Malapitan, Vincent Garcia, Alfredo Garbin Jr., Lawrence Lemuel Fortun, Resurrection Acop, and Abdullah Dimaporo.

It was not known immediately if there are pending cases at the HRET and the SET.

Gesmundo and Hernando used to be members of the HRET.

As Chief Justice, Gesmundo now heads the Presidential Electoral Tribunal (PET) which is composed of all SC justices.

The PET has dismissed the election protest filed by then Sen. Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. against Vice-President Ma. Leonor “Leni” Robredo.

It was not known if Marcos has filed a motion for reconsideration.