3 Pisay students to join 53rd International Chemistry Olympiad (IChO) in Japan

Published March 26, 2021, 10:02 AM

by Charissa Luci-Atienza 

Three students of the Philippine Science High School (PSHS) have been qualified as the country’s official delegates to the 53rd International Chemistry Olympiad (IChO) to be organized remotely in Japan.

In a statement, the PSHS System announced that Kristoff John A. Padilla and Nathan Wayne F. Ariston of the Central Mindanao Campus and Ron Angelo A. Gelacio of the Main Campus emerged as victors in the Philippine National Chemistry Olympiad (PNCO) 2021, making them the Philippines’ official delegates to this year’s IChO.

The PSHS congratulated Padilla, Ariston and Gelacio for wining gold medals and qualified as official Philippine delegates to IChO 2021.

It noted that Ariston and Gelacio both bagged bronze medals in 52nd IChO held in Istanbul, Turkey in 2020.

The PSHS also won seven silver and eight bronze medals in the Philippine National Chemistry Olympiad 2021, which was held remotely on March 6. 

The seven silver medalists are Paulo John A. Mercado and Lamberlain V. Muji (Central Luzon Campus), Mark Ranielle R. Cueto and Allan Dominic D. Gavica (CALABARZON Region Campus), Adrian Richard C. Salazar (Bicol Region Campus), and Seth Marchen S. Trompeta and Andrei Mikael R. Silverio (Main Campus).

While, the eight PSHS students who won the bronze medals are the following:  Gabriel Laurence I. Gomez (Ilocos Region Campus), Edrian Paul S. Liao and Luis Jerard Salum (Cagayan Valley Campus), Anshari Kirsten G. Dalan and Juan Miguel Sebastian E. Orille (Cordillera Administrative Campus), John Joseph S. Liwag (Calabarzon Region Campus), Paolo Miguel C. Torres (Main Campus), and Taj Liam A. Banz (Southern Mindanao Campus).

The awardees were coached by Julius Victorius A. Saluria (Main Campus); Monaliza M. Callueng (Ilocos Region Campus); Bryle C. Eusebio, Mark Merrill N. Mesa, and Maria Cristina C. Valeros (Cagayan Valley Campus); Fiona U. Paredes (Cordillera Administrative Region); Mark Xavier E. Bailon, Princess Ann B. Digneneng, Angelo Batoon, Brenda A. Pelagio, and Rodolfo Del Rosario (Central Luzon Campus); Moises Jerome M. Garrero (CALABARZON Region Campus); Alpha Rowena O. Pimentel (Bicol Region Campus); Le Grande O. Dolino (Southern Mindanao Campus); and Jay Carl M. Agbay (Central Mindanao Campus).

 The virtual awarding ceremony was held on March 20. 

Meanwhile, the PSHS also extended its felicitations to Raphael Dylan Dalida of PSHS-Main Campus for winning second runner-up in the 23rd Philippine Mathematical Olympiad during the virtual event on March 21.