FPPF announces PhotoWorld Cup Photographer of the Year

Published March 2, 2021, 7:01 PM

by Ronald Jayme

By Chris Malinao

Cynthia “Cha” Castilla Pagdilao has been awarded the “Photographer of the Year (POTY) 2020” title in ceremonies held recently in Marikina for topping the year-long individual scores in the monthly photography contests of the PhotoWorld Cup of the Federation of Philippine Photographers Foundation (FPPF). Pagdilao is a member and officer of two camera clubs, Prima and Zone V. In over two decades of the PhotoWorld Cup, Pagdilao is the first woman to wrest the POTY title.

(From left) Cris Cleofas, James Singlador, Boyet Guevarra, Rossana Cortez, Cynthia Pagdilao (Photographer of the Year 2020), FPPF President Pablo Beltran, Ruben Castor Rañin, Vicky Lim, and Jeremey Sandel (Photo by Richmond Chi)

PhotoWorld Cup is the photo competition forum among camera clubs affiliated with the FPPF. It holds regular monthly contest based on a different theme each month and merits are accumulated in a point system agreed upon by the camera clubs. Points are accumulated by individual photographers and camera clubs. At the end of the year, the points earned determine the winners in two categories: Photographer of the Year and Camera Club of the Year.

Camera Club of the Year 2020 is Images Camera Club of Cebu which won the title for four consecutive years now since they first bagged the title in 2017.

PhotoWorld Cup Top Ten Photographers of the Year 2020 (with ties at 5th and 10th Places):

1. Cynthia “Cha” Pagdilao – Prima Camera Club

2. Michael Jo – Images Camera Club of Cebu

3. Ruben Castor Rañin – Lens Nation Photography Club

4. Jer Sandel – Focus Bulacan

5. Mac Omega – Manila Avid Photographers Club

    Michael Siy – Images Camera Club of Cebu

6. Lindy Barbosa – Prize Photo Club

7. Alex Villamanca – Images Camera Club of Cebu

8. David Lim – Prima Camera Club

9. Jenny Exconde – Lakbay Klik Kamera Klab

10. Dewey Sergio – Alpha Camera Club

      Melissa Joy Dela Cruz – Samahan ng mga Litratista sa Rizal

PhotoWorld Cup Top Ten Camera Clubs of the Year 2020:

1. Images Camera Club of Cebu

2. Prima Camera Club

3. Samahan ng mga Litratista sa Rizal

4. Manila Avid Photographers Club

5. Focus Bulacan

6. Framed Shots Camera Club

7. Lens Nation Photography Club

8. Camera Club of Negros

9. I-focus Camera Club

10. Nayon Photographers Club

Every month for the past two decades, clubs submit entries on different subjects which are judged and critiqued by master photographers. FPPF President Pablo Beltran said this is why many FPPF-trained photographers win in national and international photo competitions. “This can be ascribed to the rigorous training and discipline acquired through Photoworld Cup,” Beltran said.