Tats Suzara elected as president of new volleyball NSA

Published January 25, 2021, 3:12 PM

by Kristel Satumbaga-Villar

Newly elected members of the Philippine National Volleyball Federation Inc. pose after Monday’s election. Photo shows (from left) Yul Benoza (board member), Rod Roque (treasurer), Tats Suzara (president), Don Caringal (secretary general), Ricky Palou (board member) and Charo Soriano (board member).

The Philippine National Volleyball Federation Inc. has been created on Monday following the election of officers that saw Ramon “Tats” Suzara as the new president.

The elections were held at the East Ocean Palace Restaurant in Parañaque City where 31 ballots were cast from various stakeholders.

No one challenged Suzara for the position as he garnered all 31 votes.

Philippine Superliga’s Ariel Paredes won the chairmanship with 30 votes, while Philippine Volleyball Federation-Zamboanga’s Arnel Hajan also got 30 votes for the Vice Presidency.

Also voted as new officers were Alliance of Philippine Volleyball Associations Inc’s Don Caringal as secretary general (31 votes), UAAP’s Rod Roque as treasurer (31) and PVF-Baguio’s Yul Benoza as auditor (30 votes).

Elected board members were Beach Volleyball Republic’s Charo Soriano (30), Premier Volleyball League’s Ricky Palou (31), Spikers’ Turf’s Tony Liao (31), NCAA’s Fr Vic Calvo (29), Negros-Alliance’s Carmela Gamboa (28), PVF-Leyte Karl Chan (30) and Philippine Olympic Committee legal counsel Atty Wharton Chan (31).

POC president Bambol Tolentino supervised the election as part of the international volleyball federation’s (FIVB) request before the World Volleyball Congress on Feb. 5 to 7.

The results will be presented to the Congress.

The new officers will have a one-year mandate before another election will take place.

“I welcome all volleyball stakeholders here to join me in taking the first big step in changing the landscape of the sport in the country with a vibrant, harmonious and supportive community,” said Suzara in a prepared speech.

“I hope that our common love for the sport will provide us with the will to unite and collaborate in elevating the status of our national teams in continental and world stages.”