Hyun Bin thanks GF Son Ye-jin as he wins grand prize at 2020 APAN Star Awards


(Clockwise from top left) Hyun Bin, Son Ye-jin, Kang Ha-neul, Park Hae-joon, Jang Dong-yoon, Lee Do-hyun and BTS’ V (APAN organizing committee, Instagram, Twitter) 

Korean actor Hyun Bin emerged as the biggest winner at the 2020 APAN Star Awards by bagging the “daesang” or grand prize for the hit drama “Crash Landing on You” and he thanked his girlfriend and co-star Son Ye-jin in his speech. 

The 2020 APAN Star Awards ceremony was held on Jan. 23 and honored excellence in Korean dramas. 

This was the first time that Hyun Bin attended a public event since his romantic relationship with Son Ye-jin was confirmed last Jan. 1. 

Upon receiving the grand prize, Hyun Bin thanked the people who worked in “Crash Landing on You” especially Son Ye-jin. 

“I would like to thank Son Ye-jin’s Yoon Se-ri for being the best partner of Ri Jeong-hyeok. I was able to imbue Ri Jeong-hyeok and make him look great thanks to the character Yoon Se-ri that Son Ye-jin portrayed well,” Hyun Bin said.  

In “Crash Landing on You,” Hyun Bin played the role of Captain Ri Jeong-hyeok while Son Ye-jin essayed the role of Yoon Se-ri. 

"Thank you. I'm happy to be able to start 2021 with such a big prize. Until now, ‘Crash Landing on You’ has received a lot of love. We are truly grateful to the fans who have watched ‘Crash Landing on You’ in Korea and around the world,” Hyun Bin said. 

Son Ye-jin, on the other hand, won the KT Seezn Star Award for “Crash Landing on You” but was unable to attend the ceremony and thanked fans in a video. 

“Itaewon Class,” starring Park Seo-joon and Kim Da-mi, was adjudged Drama of the Year while the OST popularity award went to “Sweet Night” by BTS’ V for “Itaewon Class.”

The winners at the 2020 APAN Star Awards are: 

• Grand Prize (Daesang) - Hyun Bin, “Crash Landing on You” 

• Top Excellence Awards

- Best Actor and Best Actress (Serial Drama) - Lee Sang-yeob, “Once Again” and Lee Min-jung, “Once Again”

- Best Actor and Best Actress (Mini-series) -  Kang Ha-Neul , “When the Camellia Blooms” and Kim Hee-sun, “Alice”

• Excellence Awards 

- Best Actor and Best Actress (Serial Drama) - Lee Sang-yi, “Once Again” and Shim Yi-young, “My Wonderful Life”

- Best Actor and Best Actress (Mini-series) - Park Hae-Joon, “The World of the Married” and Seo Ye-ji, “It’s Okay to Not Be Okay”

• Best Supporting Actors: Oh Jung-se, “Stove League” and “It’s Okay to Not Be Okay,” and Kim Young-min, “The World of the Married” and “Crash Landing on You”

• Best Supporting Actress - Kim Sun-young, “Crash Landing on You” and “Backstreet Rookie”

• Best New Actors - Jang Dong-yoon, “Tale of Nokdu” and Lee Do-hyun, “18 Again”

• Best New Actress - Jeon Mi-do, “Hospital Playlist”

• Popularity Award (actor) - Kim Soo-hyun, “It’s Okay to Not Be Okay” 

• Popularity Award (actress) - Son Ye-ji, “It’s Okay to Not Be Okay”  

• KT Seezn Star Award - Son Ye-jin, “Crash Landing on You”

• Best OST - BTS V’s “Sweet Night” for “Itaewon Class” 

• Best Director - Cha Young-hoon, “When the Camellia Blooms”

• Best Writer - Lee Shin-hHwa, “Stove League”

• Web Drama Award - “Best Mistake”

• Short Drama  Award - “Live Like That”

• Best Manager - Kang Geon-taek, CEO of VAST Entertainment