Plebiscite for creation of 3 Palawan provinces set

Published January 11, 2021, 12:30 PM

by Leslie Ann Aquino

Voters in the plebiscite for the creation of the provinces of Palawan del Norte, Palawan Oriental, and Palawan del Sur on March 13 will have to answer only one question in the official ballot.


In Resolution No. 10687, the Commission on Elections (Comelec) said voters will only have to answer this question: “Are you in favor of dividing Palawan into three provinces?”

The Comelec said the voter if he agrees shall write the word “Yes” or “Oo” or its conceptual equivalent in the blank box after the question.

If the voter is not in favor, he shall write the word “No” or “Hindi” or its conceptual equivalent in the blank line after the question.

The poll body originally scheduled the plebiscite last May 11 in accordance with Republic Act No. 11259 which provides that the plebiscite should be held on the second Monday of May 2020.

However, last April, the Comelec suspended the plebiscite as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic and the Enhanced Community Quarantine in Luzon.

The en banc agreed with the recommendation of Law Department that holding of a free and honest plebiscite is impossible at the height of the spread of the COVID-19.

The Inter-Agency Task Force approved the proposal to hold the plebiscite in March last Oct. 8 and the Comelec set the date to
March 13.

In Resolution No. 10682, the poll body set the Information and Campaign Period from February 11 to March 11 and the Plebiscite Period from Feb. 11 to March 20.