UP Manila graduate tops Nov. 2020 Physician Licensure Exams – PRC

Published November 26, 2020, 7:56 AM

by Noreen Jazul

A total of 3,538 out of 4,704 passed the November, 2020, Physician Licensure Examinations (PLE), the Philippine Professional Regulation Commission (PRC) announced on Thursday.

Results of the exam were released seven days after the last day of the examinations.

The roll of passers was led by Jomel Garcia Lapides from the University of the Philippines Manila (UPM) who got an 88.67% rating.

Following Lapides in the list were Patrick Joseph Amunategui Magubat from the University of Saint La Salle and Adrian Emmanuel Diago Teves from the University of Santo Tomas (UST) at second place, both with an 88.58% rating.

With a rating of 88.33, Henrick Ryan Chua Fong from UST and Raphael Cecilio Salazar Rodolfo from UP Manila placed third in the list of top PLE passers.

In fourth place was Rafael Emmanuel Bueno Mendoza from the Ateneo School of Medicine and Public Health with an 88.17% rating.

‘A familiar name’

One familiar name on the list of passers was Tifanny Grace Cheng Uy.

Uy placed 5th in the list with a rating of 88.08%, alongside fellow UPM graduate Hannah Tulipat Chito and Chino Paolo Milan Samson from the Lyceum Northwestern Unviesyt- Dagupan City.

Uy made headlines in 2015 for graduating with the highest general weighted average (GWA) recorded in UP Diliman since World War II.

Earlier this year, Uy made headlines anew for topping her class in UPM College of Medicine, graduating as magna cum laude.

‘Top schools’

The Cebu Institute of Medicine was named the top performing school for the November, 2020, PLE with a 100% passing rate.

The school was followed by UP Manila (98.63%), Ateneo School of Medicine and Public Health (98.60%), Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila (97.58%), and University of Santo Tomas with (95.61%).

The new PLE passers can register for the issuance of their PRC Identification Card (ID) and Certificate of Registration online from January 11 to January 29, 2021.

PRC has yet to issue the date and venue for the oath taking ceremony of the new physicians.