Green light for Bambol, four others

Published November 22, 2020, 4:16 PM

by Kristel Satumbaga-Villar

Philippine Olympic Committee president Bambol Tolentino and four other officials from his party will be allowed to run in the election this Friday.

This development came after the Election Committee tasked to handle the POC polling denied the petition filed by the group headed by archery chief Clint Aranas to disqualify Tolentino, triathlon’s Tom Carrasco, gymnastics’ Cynthia Carrion, judo’s Dave Carter and surfing’s Raul Canlas.

Aranas is running against Tolentino for the presidential post.

“All official protests filed are denied in their entirety for lack of merit,” said the election committee chaired by Teodoro Kalaw IV.

The other members of that committee are Danilo Concepcion, University of the Philippines president, and Frank Elizalde, ex International Olympic Committee representative.

Charges that were lodged against the Tagaytay Congressman and PhilCycling chief included conflict of interest relating to Southeast Asian Games matters, lack of time to be eligible to run, and a suspended corporate license.

Kalaw also announced that Hidilyn Diaz, a female representative of the Athletes Commission, and four other national sports association heads would cast their votes via sealed ballots.

Diaz, a 2016 Rio silver medalist, could not vote onsite because she is currently training in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia where she has been stranded since March this year.

Also voting via courier are canoe-kayak’s Teresita Uy, football’s Mariano Araneta of football, skating’s Benito Lim and sambo’s Atty. Paulo Claudio.