Typhoon Ulysses makes third landfall

Typhoon "Ulysses" (international name "Vamco") has made its third landfall in the vicinity of General Nakar, Quezon at 1:40 A.M. on November 12, according to the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA).


PAGASA said as of 1 AM today, the center of the eye of Typhoon "Ulysses" was estimated at 30 km North of Infanta, Quezon and at 1:40 a.m. was located in the vicinity of General Nakar, Quezon.

With maximum sustained winds of 155 km/h near the center and gustiness of up to 255 km/h, the tropical cyclone was moving west northwestward at 20 km/h.

Based on the Severe Weather Bulletin No. 18 issued at 2:00 a.m., the typhoon is forecast to cross Central Luzon and emerge over the western seaboard of Zambales this morning. 

"After making landfall at peak intensity, the typhoon is forecast to slightly weaken while crossing Central Luzon due to frictional effects in the presence of the Sierra Madre and Zambales Mountain Ranges. However, it is likely to remain a typhoon throughout its traverse," read the bulletin.

On the forecast track, PAGASA said the typhoon may exit the Philippine Area of Responsibility tomorrow morning or afternoon.

Areas with tropical cyclone warning signals are the following:

Signal No. 3: The southern portion of Quirino (Maddela, Nagtipunan), the southern portion of Nueva Vizcaya (Alfonso Castaneda, Dupax Del Norte, Dupax Del Sur), Pangasinan, Nueva Ecija, Aurora, Tarlac, Zambales, Bataan, Pampanga, Bulacan, Metro Manila, Rizal, Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, the northern and central portions of Quezon (Catanauan, Buenavista, Guinayangan, Tagkawayan, Calauag, Lopez, Quezon, Alabat, Perez, Mauban, Real, Infanta, General Nakar, Sampaloc, Atimonan, Plaridel, Gumaca, General Luna, Macalelon, Pitogo, Unisan, Agdangan, Padre Burgos, Pagbilao, Lucena City, Tayabas City, Lucban, Sariaya, Candelaria, San Antonio, Tiaong, Dolores) including Polillo Islands, and the western portion of Camarines Norte (Labo, Paracale, Jose Panganiban, Capalonga, Santa Elena)

Signal No. 2: The central and southern portions of Isabela (Mallig, Quirino, Ilagan, Roxas, Burgos, Gamu, Palanan, San Mariano, Dinapigue, San Guillermo, Benito Soliven, Naguilian, Reina Mercedes, Luna, San Manuel, Aurora, Cabatuan, Cauayan City, San Mateo, Alicia, Angadanan, Echague, Jones, San Agustin, San Isidro, Ramon, Santiago City, Cordon), the rest of Quirino, the rest of Nueva Vizcaya, Mountain Province, Ifugao, Benguet, the southern portion of Ilocos Sur (Cervantes, Quirino, San Emilio, Lidlidda, Santiago, Banayoyo, Candon City, Galimuyod, Gregorio Del Pilar, Salcedo, Santa Lucia, Santa Cruz, Sigay, Suyo, Tagudin, Alilem, Sugpon), La Union, the northern portion of Occidental Mindoro (Paluan, Abra de Ilog) including Lubang Island, the northern portion of Oriental Mindoro (Pola, Victoria, Naujan, Baco, Calapan City, San Teodoro, Puerto Galera), Marinduque, the rest of Quezon, the rest of Camarines Norte, and Camarines Sur.

Signal No. 1: The rest of Isabela, Kalinga, Abra, the rest of Ilocos Sur, the rest of Occidental Mindoro, the rest of Oriental Mindoro, Romblon, Albay, Sorsogon, Catanduanes, and the central and western portion of Masbate (Mandaon, Balud, Milagros, Mobo, Masbate City, Baleno, Aroroy) including Burias and Ticao Islands

According to the weather bureau, throughout the passage of the typhoon, destructive typhoon-force winds will be experienced in areas under Tropical Cyclone Wind Signal No. 3; damaging gale- to storm-force winds in areas under Signal No. 2; and strong breeze to near gale conditions in areas under Signal No. 1. 

It added that the surge of the Northeast Monsoon will bring strong breeze to gale force winds over the rest of Northern Luzon.