Filipino scientist wins Killam Prize in Canada

Published November 6, 2020, 11:00 PM

by Roy Mabasa

A Filipino BS Biology graduate from the University of the Philippines in Los Baños (UPLB) was recently chosen as one of the three recipients of the prestigious Dorothy J Killam Memorial Graduate Prizes in Alberta, Canada for his outstanding research on new ways to control the spread of the mountain pine beetle epidemic.

Albert Remus Rosana

Albert Remus Rosana, a native of Sta. Cruz, Laguna, is currently taking his Ph.D. in Chemistry at the University of Alberta (U of A) and is researching the pine beetle epidemic that threatens not only the Western Canadian pine tree forest but the whole forest ecosystem of Canada.

“Mr. Rosana’s remarkable achievement is a testament that Filipinos can excel academically, including in research, and be among the best in the world,” said Philippine Consul General to Calgary Zaldy Patron.

Since 2012, Rosana has already written 22 publications and is currently working on six manuscripts for his various researches, some in collaboration with other researchers. He still conducts research in the Philippines that can potentially help various Philippine industries.

The Killam prizes were created in the fall of 2002 to honor the memory of Canadian philanthropist Dorothy J Killam. These are bestowed annually by the University of Alberta to the most outstanding Killam Memorial Scholarship recipients. It is the highest award given by the institution to its Ph.D. students. 

Awardees of the Killam prizes are selected based on a Ph.D. student’s academic achievement, research proposal, letters of recommendation, and leadership qualities.

The Philippine-born awardee received a total of CAD100,000 (approximately Php 3.6 million) grants over the next two years.

Rosana earned his degree in BS Biology with flying colors from the UPLB in 2005. In 2010, he entered the U of A for his Master of Science in Microbiology and Biotechnology, then started his Ph.D. in Chemistry in the same institution in 2016.