Travel to and from Sulu restricted due to COVID-19

Published October 17, 2020, 10:30 AM

by Zea Capistrano

DAVAO CITY – Sulu Provincial Governor Abdusakur Tan issued an executive order, providing for the implementation of stricter guidelines and health protocols in a bid to curb the increasing number of coronavirus disease cases in the province.

Tan signed EO Order No. 17-2020 last October 14, providing for a moratorium for both inbound and outbound travels effective October 16 until October 31.

“All inbound travels to Sulu shall be suspended for Locally Stranded Individuals (LSIs), Returning Filipinos from Sabah, Returning Overseas Filipinos, (and) Badjaos,” Section 1 No. 1 of the EO said.

It added that only returning frontliners, including medical practitioners, government soldiers and police, and those authorized persons outside residence (APORs) who traveled outside Sulu with travel order from their head of office, will be allowed to travel. 

Meanwhile, non-Sulu residents who have approved request to travel to Sulu for official purpose, and will only stay in the province for a limited period should present a negative reverse transcription-polymerase chain reaction (RT-PCR) result dated not less than five days from date of travel to the Sulu Task Force COVID-19, along with other necessary travel documents.

The EO also limits outbound travels to essential or indispensable travel of frontliners and authorized persons. 

It said travel for emergency purposes, including hospitalization, is allowed only to those with referral from a physician.

The EO also requires individuals entering Jolo to present their Quarantine Pass issued by their barangay captains. Passenger vehicles are also required to present their Transport Pass issued by the Sulu Task Force COVID 19, while only private vehicles of frontliners with proper labels are allowed to enter the city. 

The EO also prohibits the holding of social gatherings in schools, community, offices, and other places.