Federico Lopez is MAP’s 2020 Management Man of the Year

Federico “Piki” R. Lopez

Federico “Piki” R. Lopez, chairman and CEO of the Lopez Group’s First Philippine Holdings Corporation, is the Management Association of the Philippines’ (MAP) Management Man of the Year 2020.

The “MAP Management Man of the Year” is a prestigious award that MAP bestows on individuals in the business community or government for attaining unquestioned distinction in the practice of management and for contributing to the country’s progress. The conferment of the award follows a thorough, stringent selection process.  The distinction of “MAP Management Man of the Year” has only been conferred 44 times in the five-decade history of the award.

The criteria for the award include integrity, leadership, and management qualities; contribution to nation-building and values formation; effective stewardship within the confines of the highest standard of business and management practice; among others.

Ed Chua, chair of the MAP Management Man of the Year Award 2020, said Lopez was chosen for passionately pushing for the country’s transition to a low-carbon economy through his various advocacies to proactively address the irreparable damage of climate change.

Lopez was also cited for championing the power industry’s deregulation for the benefit of the country.

In addition, Lopez is known for steering the Lopez Group to being in the forefront of energy security and sustainability, and clean technologies for renewable energy and natural gas, and his leadership role in the substantial contributions of the Lopez Group to national development in terms of production, value added, income generation and job creation.  He is also Chairman and CEO of publicly-listed  First Gen.

In addition, this year’s Management Man of the Year has been credited for developing a deep bench of Filipino technical and managerial talent who are globally competitive.

Lopez is also known for his contribution to long-term positive development of society through his undertakings on technical-vocational education, youth development, community-based livelihood programs, scholarship opportunities for musicians, and research projects on environmental protection; and for setting an example for Filipino managers through a track record of integrity, entrepreneurial excellence, professional competence and great leadership in his management career.

The roster of “MAP Management Man of the Year” awardees include: Washington Z. SyCip (1967), Geronimo Z. Velasco (1977), Henry A. Brimo (1978), Jose M. Soriano (1979), Cesar E.A. Virata (1981), Jaime V. Ongpin and Vicente T. Paterno (1982), Dante G. Santos (1983), Cesar A. Buenaventura and Roberto T. Villanueva (1985), Jaime Zobel  de Ayala (1987), Ramon V. del Rosario, Sr. (1988), Jose B. Fernandez, Jr. (1989), Raul T. Concepcion (1990), Oscar J. Hilado (1991), Alfonso T. Yuchengco (1992), Juan B. Santos (1994), David  M. Consunji and Rizalino S. Navarro (1996), Gabriel C. Singson (1998), Delfin L. Lazaro and Henry Sy, Sr. (1999), Oscar M. Lopez (2000), Tony Tan Caktiong (2002), Jesus P. Tambunting (2003),  Rafael B. Buenaventura (2004), Manuel V. Pangilinan (2005), George S. K. Ty and Jaime Augusto Zobel de Ayala II (2006), Jose L. Cuisia Jr. (2007), Antonino T. Aquino and Jesus P. Estanislao (2009), Lilia B. de Lima and Ramon R. del Rosario, Jr. (2010), Erramon Aboitiz (2011), Aurelio R. Montinola III (2012), Edgar O. Chua (2013), Albert F. del Rosario (2014), Amando M. Tetangco, Jr. (2015), Teresita Sy-Coson (2016), John L. Gokongwei, Jr. (2017), Fernando Zobel de Ayala (2018), Nestor V. Tan (2019) and Federico R. Lopez (2020).