5 Pangasinan LGUs open tourism destinations for Region 1 visitors

Published October 10, 2020, 11:11 AM

by Liezle Basa Iñigo

PANGASINAN – This province has been steadily reopening its doors to visitors as it reiterated its support for the Ridge and Reef Travel Corridor of the Department of Tourism (DOT).

Alaminos City (Photo via Liezle Basa Inigo / MANILA BULLLETIN)
Alaminos City (Photo via Liezle Basa Inigo / MANILA BULLLETIN)

Five local government units (LGUs) in Pangasinan are now open to receive Region 1 guests, namely, Bolinao, Dasol, Manaoag, Sual and Alaminos City.

Anda, Burgos and Dagupan City have opened their tourism destinations to Pangasinenses only.

According to DOT Region 1 Director Jeff Ortega, the main objective of the Ridge and Reef Travel Corridor was to relaunch the tourism industry, while considering guidelines and protocol for the “new normal”.

For nowthe DOT-Region 1 is formulating the guidelines for the smooth and seamless relaunching of the tourism industry in the region.

He noted that DOT-Region 1 will establish its own universal website similar to Baguio City’s Visitor Information and Travel Assistance (VISITA) system for pre-registration and pre-booking in the various tourist attractions, as well as hotels and restaurants in the region, to avoid a build-up of unaccommodated tourists in the respective borders.

Provincial Tourism and Cultural Affairs Office (PTCAO) Chief Malu Elduayan said that, as of September, there were seven DOT-accredited accommodation establishments in Pangasinan that have been issued Certificates of Authority to Operate (CAO), while 271 others have been issued Provisional Certificates of Authority to Operate (PCAO).

Ridge and Reef Travel Corridor is the DOT’s strategy in promoting the tourism industry in Region 1, particularly in Baguio City, Pangasinan, La Union, Ilocos Sur and Ilocos Norte.

Earlier, the four provincial governors of Region 1 and the city mayor of Baguio signed a Memorandum of Understanding for mutual support in the promotion of tourism and stability during this time of pandemic within BLUPISIN (Baguio City, La Union, Pangasinan, Ilocos Sur and Ilocos Norte).