K-pop supergroup SuperM’s ‘Super One’ album debuts at No. 2 on Billboard 200

K-pop supergroup SuperM’s debut studio album “Super One,” released on Sept. 25, debuted at No. 2 on Billboard 200 for the Oct 10-dated chart.

According to Billboard, the album “bows with 104,000 equivalent album units earned. Of that sum, 101,000 are from album sales, 3,000 from SEA units (equaling 5.2 million in on-demand streams of the set’s tracks) and a negligible sum from TEA units.”

Billboard 200 is based on equivalent album units composed of “album sales, track equivalent albums (TEA) and streaming equivalent albums (SEA). Each unit equals one album sale, or 10 individual tracks sold from an album, or 3,750 ad-supported or 1,250 paid/subscription on-demand official audio and video streams generated by songs from an album.”

“The set’s sales were bolstered by many merchandise/album bundles sold via the group’s official webstores, including a range of items co-branded with Marvel,” Billboard explained.

It added, “In addition, sales were encouraged by more than a dozen variants of the album released across digital and CD formats, including a Target-exclusive version with different packaging and a poster. As is usual for many K-pop acts, the CD editions of the album were issued in elaborate collectible packaging containing such items as a poster and a postcard.”

SuperM (SM Entertainment)

Their debut mini-album “SuperM” debuted at No. 1 on Billboard 200 in October “2019 with 168,000 equivalent album units earned in its first week.”

“Super One” is led by the song “One (Monster & Infinity),” a hybrid remix song that combined “Infinity” and “Monster,” which are also in the album.

SuperM is composed of Baekhyun and Kai of EXO, Taemin of SHINee, Mark and Taeyong of NCT 127, and Lucas and Ten of WayV.

With “Super One,” SuperM delivers the message: ““We all have the power of each (One) as a special (Super) existence, so let’s overcome together with the power of (One).”

“Super One” is a follow-up to the group’s debut album “SuperM,” released in October 2019 and which debuted at No. 1 on Billboard 200.

The lead song “One (Monster & Infinity)” is a hybrid remix song that combined “Infinity” and “Monster,” which are also included in the studio album.