BLACKPINK reveals title of main track of ‘The Album’

Published September 28, 2020, 10:13 AM

by Jonathan Hicap

K-pop girl group BLACKPINK will be making their much-awaited comeback this week and today, Sept. 28, they revealed the main track of their upcoming album.

“Lovesick Girls” will be the carrier track of their first ever studio album “The Album” that is set for release at 1 p.m. Korea standard time (noon in the Philippines) on Oct. 2.

YG Entertainment said BLACKPINK will be holding a comeback live broadcast at 10 a.m. KST on Naver V Live on Oct. 2 or three hours before the release of the album.

“The Album” is BLACKPINK’s first studio album since debuting in 2016 and in six days, it has garnered 800,000 copies in pre-orders. It will include their pre-release hit songs “How You Like That” and “Ice Cream (with Selena Gomez).”

The music videos for the two songs have set records on YouTube. “How You Like That” and “Ice Cream (with Selena Gomez)” are Nos. 2 and 3 on YouTube’s most viewed music videos in the first 24 hours of all time.


“How You Like That” has garnered 549.49 million views on YouTube since its release on June 26 while “Ice Cream (with Selena Gomez)” has 290 million views as of writing.

At the 2020 MTV Video Music Awards (VMA) held in August, BLACKPINK won Song of Summer for “How You Like That,” their first win at the music awards show.

Recently, Twitter revealed that BLACKPINK ranked fourth in the top 10 most mentioned K-pop artists in the world on the platform while “How You Like That” is ninth in the top 10 most mentioned K-pop songs globally.

In the Philippines, BLACKPINK ranked second in the most mentioned K-pop artists on Twitter while “How You Like That” ranked fourth and “Kill This Love” ranked tenth in the most mentioned K-pop songs in the country.