DSWD winds down SAP 2 distribution

The Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) said Monday that it is “winding down" the distribution of a second tranche of emergency cash subsidy under the national government's Social Amelioration Program (SAP).

‘AYUDA’ — Hundreds of residents, including some senior citizens prohibited by health protocols from going out of their homes, listen to instructions on how to claim their cash benefits from the government’s Social Amelioration Program (SAP) second tranche at the corner of J. P. Rizal and M. H. Del Pilar streets in Marikina City on Monday, September 14. (Alvin Kasiban / MANILA BULLETIN)

DSWD spokesperson Irene Dumlao assured the public that the remaining three percent of the 14.1 million low-income families targeted to receive the SAP 2 aid will be given their entitled cash subsidy within this month.

“The DSWD would like to inform that we are already winding down the implementation of the Social Amelioration Program. In fact, as of yesterday's report, we have distributed P82.6 billion to 13.8 million family beneficiaries under SAP," she said during the “Laging Handa” network briefing.

In the DSWD’s latest SAP monitoring report, as of Sept. 14, around 13, 853, 942 beneficiaries have received their entitled subsidy as provided for under the already-lapsed Republic Act No. 11469, the Bayanihan to Heal As One Act. Of the total number, 245, 453 SAP 2 recipients are public transport drivers.

According to Dumlao, the list of latest recipients of the SAP 2 aid also includes 1,387,021 beneficiaries of Pantawid Pamilyang Pilipino Program (4Ps); 5,976,392 low-income, and non-4Ps recipients; 3,277, 417 “waitlisted”, low-income, and non-4Ps households nationwide; and 1,826, 951 “waitlisted” beneficiaries from ECQ areas.

Based on the latest DSWD’s SAP monitoring report, the amount of disbursed SAP subsidy totals P82,706,174,650.

The 11 areas covered by SAP 2 are Region III (Central Luzon) , except Aurora province, the National Capital Region; Region IV-A (CALABARZON) ; Benguet; Pangasinan; Iloilo; Cebu Province; Bacolod City; Davao City, Albay province, and Zamboanga City.