Maharlika FC secures provisional license, becomes 6th PFL club

Published September 2, 2020, 12:30 PM

by Jonas Terrado

Maharlika FC was given provisional license by the Philippine Football Federation, paving the way for its participation in the Philippines Football League.

The club, founded by former Philippine Azkals defender Anton del Rosario, got the nod during Tuesday’s meeting.

Players and staff of Maharlika are scheduled to undergo RT-PCR/swab tests on Wednesday at the PFF office as a mandatory requirement before training at the National Training Centre in Carmona, Cavite.

PFL commissioner Coco Torre said prior to the approval, Maharlika was able to comply with the requirements set by the federation.

Maharlika’s entry has made it a six-team field for the PFL season which is eyeing an October kickoff.

Former national team players have been tapped by the club, namely striker Misagh Bahadoran, Simon Greatwich and Jerry Barbaso. Also joining is former Loyola Meralco Sparks defender Joaco Canas.