5 nations lift inbound travel restrictions on Filipinos amid pandemic

Despite the continued increase in the number of COVID-19 (coronavirus disease 2019) cases in the Philippines, the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) has received reports that five new countries have lifted inbound restrictions on Filipino travelers, subject to medical protocols such as proof of purchase of health insurance, institutional or home quarantine, and presentation of negative COVID-19 test result, among others.


In an advisory, the DFA identified the countries as Brazil, Kiribati, United Kingdom, Benin, and Chad.

On the other hand, while general entry is not yet allowed in Canada, Armenia, Slovak Republic, and Kuwait, these countries have imposed stricter medical protocols for those who are exempt from entry restrictions such as their returning citizens, diplomatic, and United Nations passport holders.

Chad has opened its outbound borders, subject to flight availability and other special arrangements. Previous information on travel restrictions for other countries and regions remain the same.

With the latest travel updates, the DFA reminds the public that information regarding travel restrictions is subject to change without prior and sufficient public notice.

The DFA advises the Filipino travelers to always check ahead of their travel dates with airlines, as well as with relevant embassies or consulates, before booking a ticket and before departure.

On Saturday, the DFA repatriated 257 overseas Filipinos from the Republic of Uzbekistan via a special chartered Philippine Airlines (PR 8688) from Tashkent.

The 257 repatriates, many of whom are documented overseas contract workers, have requested the government for repatriation assistance for fear of contracting COVID-19 in their worksites in Uzbekistan.