Bill reapportioning Bulacan to 6 legislative districts OK’d on second reading

Published August 7, 2020, 7:09 PM

by Ben Rosario

The House of Representatives has approved on second reading a bill reapportioning the province of Bulacan from the current four, to six legislative districts.

House Bill 6867 exempts San Jose del Monte City in the proposed re-apportionment.

The city will remain a single congressional district as represented in the Lower House by Rep. Rida Robes, chairperson of the House Committee on Public Participation.

All five lawmakers representing the various areas of Bulacan signed the bill as co-authors.  
They are Reps. Jose Antonio Sy-Alvarado; Gavini Pancho; Lorna Silverio; Henry Villarica and Robes.

Under the bill, which is expected to be approved on third and final reading within the month, the legislative districts of Bulacan will be as follows:

–       First District ( Population: 717,820)  – Calumpit, Hagonoy, Paombong, Pulilan, Bulakan and City of Malolos;
–       Second District (Population: 324,728) – Baliuag, Bustos, and Plaridel
–       Third District (Population: 375,671) – San Ildefonso, San Miguel, San Rafael and Dona Remedios Trinidad
–       Four District (Population: 490,245) – Obando, Marilao and City of Meycauayan
–       Fifth District (Population: 382,409)- Guiguinto, Balagtas, Pandi and Bocaue
–       Sixth District (Population; 427,039) – Sta. Maria, Norzagaray and Angat

Bulacan solons said the proposed reapportionment of the province complies with the constitutional requirements for the creation of new legislative districts, including the population requirement of 250,000.

“The bill aims to address the lack of representation of the province of Bulacan in Congress given the population increase since the Constitution’s inception in 1987,” the lawmakers explained.