Over 10.2 million beneficiaries receive SAP 2 aid — DSWD

Over 10.2 million beneficiaries have received their second tranche of emergency cash subsidy under the national government’s Social Amelioration Program (SAP), the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) said Thursday.

Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) (MANILA BULLETIN)
Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD)

DSWD Undersecretary Rene Glen Paje said the agency already covered 72.4 percent of the targeted beneficiaries for the second tranche, distributing more than P66.4 billion worth of cash subsidies nationwide.

“Ayon sa pinakahuling ulat natin (Bases on our latest data), ngayon ika-6 ng Agosto (as of today, August 6), ay umabot na P66.4 billion ang naipamahahagi (P66.4 billion has been distributed) ng (by the) DSWD sa pamamagitan ng (through) manual at digital payputs sa mahigit na (to over) 10.2 milyon na pamilya na benepisyaryo (family beneficiaries) ng programa (of the program) .Ito ay tinatayang nasa (This is) 72.4 percent na ng kabuuang bilang ng mga benepisyaryo na nakatanggap (of the total number of beneficiaries targeted to receive) sa second tranche (the second tranche) ng ating (of our)  Social Amelioration Program,” he said in a virtual press briefing.

He said of the 10.2 million SAP 2 recipients  who got their subsidy,  5.2 million are low-income, and non-beneficiaries of Pantawid Pamilyang Pilipino Program (4Ps); 1.3 million are 4Ps families; 2.6 million are “waitlisted”, low-income, and non-4Ps households; and 1 million are “waitlisted” beneficiaries from the enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) areas. 

“Tuloy-tuloy po ang pamamahagi ng DSWD ng ayuda sa lahat ng mga kawalipikadong benepisyaryo sa illaim ng ikawalang bugso ng Social Amelioration Program. Patuloy na nagsisikap ang mga kawani at buong ahensya upang matapos ang lahat ng payout sa kalagitnaan ng buwang kasalukyan,” he assured. 

(The DSWD's distribution of cash aid to all qualified beneficiaries under the second phase implementation of the Social Amelioration Program continues.The DSWD personnel  are exhausting all means to ensure the completion of all the payouts by the middle of this month.)

Paje reminded that over 14.1 million, not 17 million beneficiaries, have been identified to benefit from the second phase implementation of SAP.

The DSWD’s clean list of beneficiaries includes 1.3 million 4Ps beneficiaries; 7.2 non-4Ps who live in areas placed under ECQ from May 1 to 15; 3.2 million “waitlisted” beneficiaries who were not able to receive the first tranche; and the 2.1 million “waitlisted” beneficiaries in ECQ areas who are entitled to receive the second tranche, he noted. 

He said the local government units (LGUs) only submitted a list of 3.2 million “waitlisted” beneficiaries out of the 5 million targeted beneficiaries. Of the number, 2.1 million beneficiaries are residents of areas placed under lockdown. 

He explained that the number of SAP 2 beneficiaries has been trimmed down to 14.1 million after the agency scrapped from the list the 675, 933 duplicate recipients, and 239, 859 ineligible beneficiaries, and the 58, 725 families who voluntarily returned their cash aid. 

Paje also took opportunity to remind the beneficiaries to follow the minimum heath standards and protocols  during the payout. 

He said they have been coordinating with the LGUs, and financial service partners to ensure the “proper management” of the SAP payouts, including the proper scheduling of the SAP distribution, and ensuring the safety and security of the payout venues.  

President Duterte decided to revert the National Capital Region (NCR), and neighbouring areas, including Bulacan, Laguna, Cavite and Rizal to  a modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) from August 4 to 18, 2020,  following the continued rise in the number of confirmed COVID-19 cases.

On June 30, 2020,  the DSWD signed a memorandum of agreement (MOA) with the Land Bank of the Philippines (LBP) and six FSPs identified by the Bangko Sentral Pilipinas (BSP) for the digital electronic disbursement of cash aid.

The participating FSPs are GCash, RCBC, Robinsons Bank, PayMaya, Starpay, and Unionbank.

The 11 areas covered by SAP 2 are Region III (Central Luzon) , except Aurora province, the NCR; Region IV-A (CALABARZON) ; Benguet; Pangasinan; Iloilo; Cebu Province; Bacolod City; Davao City, Albay province and Zamboanga City.