Leyte economy expected to recover faster under MGCQ

Published August 3, 2020, 4:45 PM

by Philippine News Agency

TACLOBAN CITY – Maintaining the modified general community quarantine (MGCQ) status of Leyte will help in the fast economic recovery of the province during the pandemic, Governor Leopoldo Dominico Petilla said.

Leyte Governor Leopoldo Dominico Petilla (Photo via PNA / MANILA BULLETIN)
Leyte Governor Leopoldo Dominico Petilla (Photo via PNA / MANILA BULLETIN)

The quarantine status starting August 1, according to Petilla, will allow the unhampered movement of goods, and delivery of farm products to consumers.

“Mechanisms have been in place by our local government to ensure that our economic activities will not be paralyzed while our authorities continue to fight the spread of Covid-19 (coronavirus disease 2019),” Petilla told reporters on Monday.

In his video message to the people on July 31, President Duterte placed Metro Manila, Bulacan, Batangas, Cavite, Laguna, Rizal, Lapu-Lapu City, Mandaue City, Talisay City, municipalities of Minglanilla and Consolacion in Cebu, and Zamboanga City under general community quarantine, while Cebu City was placed under general community quarantine from a modified enhanced community quarantine.

Other places in the country, including Leyte province, were placed under MGCQ.

As of August 1, Leyte has 393 confirmed coronavirus disease (COVID-19) cases, including 279 recoveries, and one death.

Petilla said that although Leyte has the most number of COVID-19 cases in the region, the recovery rate of the province was also high as most of the infected individuals were asymptomatic, including those who arrived in the early part of July.

The governor issued Executive Order 08-01-2020 extending the MGCQ status in the province.

The entry of all persons originating outside the province either by land, air, or sea is prohibited except for returning overseas Filipino workers, locally stranded individuals, and Hatid Tulong program beneficiaries. 

All returning residents must undergo the mandatory 14-day quarantine period in their respective cities and towns upon arrival.

Also exempted from travel ban are authorized persons outside residence (APOR), or those workers in essential business establishments and industries, health and emergency front-liners, uniformed personnel, those traveling for medical or humanitarian reasons, skeletal workforce, accredited construction workers, delivery personnel of cargo vehicles, among others.

Public utility vehicles can now resume operations, provided they comply with the directive of the Department of Transportation on disinfection and other safety measures.

Business establishments that resume operations should equip their office or store with disinfectant or sanitizer ready for use of its clientele.