DFA suspends work at Metro Manila, Region 4-A consular offices

Published August 3, 2020, 12:04 PM

by Richa Noriega

The Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) announced Monday the temporary suspension of operations in consular offices in Metro Manila and parts of Calabarzon or Region 4-A (Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Rizal, and Quezon area) during the modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) from Aug. 4 to 18.

#DFAAdvisory Suspension of Consular Operations in Metro Manila and Some Parts of CALABARZON in accordance with MECQ…

Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of the Philippines 发布于 2020年8月2日周日

The department said all consular offices in Metro Manila, Malolos City, Dasmarinas City, Laguna, and Antipolo City will temporarily suspend their operations from Aug. 4 to 18.

The DFA said passport applicants with confirmed appointments during these dates will be accommodated on Aug. 19 until Sept. 30 during regular business hours.

It added that the authentication, civil registration, and other consular services will be accommodated starting Aug. 19 to Sept. 30.

The department said there is no need to reschedule or cancel the confirmed appointments of the passport applicants who were affected by the MECQ declaration.

It noted that due to logistical limitations in light of the MECQ, there may be delays in the production, delivery, and availability of passports nationwide.

The DFA asked for public understanding of the delays in email or call responses due to the volume of calls and emails received.