Facebook rolls out Messenger Room in PH

Published July 22, 2020, 2:18 PM

by Jonathan Castillo

Written by Enzo Luna

For those who’ve just woke up late, Facebook surprised everyone when the new Messenger Rooms feature was announced on users’ News Feeds, Wednesday morning, July 22, in the Philippines.

Facebook started to roll out and introduce a new way to enjoy video messaging with friends inside the Messenger app through Messenger Rooms.

Messenger Rooms serves as a video chat room with friends. This is very much a good timing for us who are staying at home because of the lockdown and the only way to see and talk to friends is through video chats. Messenger Rooms can be used as video conferencing for exclusive meetings and can be accessed by 16 people, as of this time being. But there are plans to expand the number of who can join for up to 50 people.

Facebook Messenger Rooms can be accessed through mobile and desktop. Just like Zoom, people can instantly share their mobile or desktop screen and activities with their friends on Messenger.

Earlier this month, Facebook was reported to be working on plans to integrate its Messenger with WhatsApp, enabling communication between the two apps.

When you create a room, you choose who can see and join it. You can remove people from the call and lock a room if you don’t want anyone else to enter.

When you use Messenger Rooms these privacy settings apply:

• Messenger Rooms can be locked or unlocked once a call begins.

• The room creator can remove any unwanted participants.

• Any participant can leave the room if they feel uncomfortable. Learn more about how to stay safe when using Messenger Rooms.

• Participants can report the room name if you believe it violates Facebook’s Community Standards. Keep in mind that reports will not include audio or video from the room.

• If you have blocked someone on Facebook or Messenger they won’t be able to join a room you created or are in if you and they are both logged in to their Facebook or Messenger account.

• When a room creator broadcasts a room using Facebook Live, it is shared to Facebook and people outside the room may see what’s happening in the room.

• Facebook may collect and review audio and video from the room’s broadcast to make sure they follow our Community Standards.

Keep in mind that different products will have different settings. You can only allow invite link sharing if it is compatible with the other settings you select when you create the room on one of our products.

The Messenger Rooms or “Create Room” feature can be accessed straight from the News Feed.

 
CLICK HERE TO SIGN-UP
 

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE

["tech-news","technology","technology"]
[2030895,2878591,2878306,2878294,2878279,2878273,2878263]