Manila Bulletin names Dr. Emilio C. Yap III as President, Crispulo J. Icban Jr. as Publisher

Published June 30, 2020, 12:43 AM

by manilabulletin_admin

The Manila Bulletin Publishing Corporation has elected Dr. Emilio C. Yap III as its new President during its organizational meeting held Thursday at the Philippine Columbian in Paco, Manila.

Also elected Publisher was erstwhile Manila Bulletin Editor-in-Chief Dr. Crispulo J. Icban, Jr. who served as Press Secretary to then President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo.

Manila Bulletin Editor-in-Chief Dr. Crispulo J. Icban (Pinggot Zulueta/MANILA BULLETIN)
Manila Bulletin Editor-in-Chief Dr. Crispulo J. Icban (Pinggot Zulueta/MANILA BULLETIN)

Dr. Yap started his career in the Manila Bulletin in 1994 when he was named Assistant Vice President at the Electronic Data Processing (EDP) Department during the chairmanship of his grandfather, the late Don Emilio T. Yap.

Dr. Yap, in his new capacity as President of the nation’s leading newspaper and exponent of Philippine progress, brings with him a wealth of knowledge and pioneering efforts that he himself instituted under the tutelage of his grandfather, Don Emilio, an icon in the Philippine newspaper industry.

In 2001, he was appointed Assistant Vice President (AVP) at the Executive Office. The following year, he was named Vice President (VP).

He has held the positions of Director for the Manila Bulletin since October 30, 2003 and Executive Vice President for Advertising since April 1, 2006.

Dr. Yap has held various positions in the family conglomerate, namely: Director at US Automotive Co., Inc. since January 2, 1995; AVP at Philtrust Bank from January 2, 1995 to December 31, 2001 and Director from April 28, 2009 to the present; Director at Manila Hotel Corporation and Centro Escolar University; Chairman of Manila Prime Land Holdings, Inc., and Director, Vice President, and Treasurer of Seabreeze Enterprises, Inc.

He graduated from the De La Salle University (DLSU) in 1994 with a Bachelor of Science degree in Accountancy. He holds a Ph.D. in Journalism and another in Business Administration.

Icban graduated from the University of the Philippines (UP) with a Bachelor of Arts in English, magna cum laude. He has a master’s degree in journalism from Syracuse University in New York where he studied on a Fullbright and Smith Mundt Grant in 1957-58. He was in the annual Nieman Fellowship program at Harvard University in Massachusetts in 1965-66.

Icban has received numerous awards in over half a century of service as a journalist. He was named Outstanding Kapampangan by the Pampanga Provincial Government, 1988; and Distinguished Tarlaqueños by the Tarlac Provincial Government, 2003. He was conferred a Doctor of Philosophy in Management, honoris causa, by the Pampanga Agricultural College (now Pampanga State Agricultural University) on April 12, 2006.

The twin appointments were announced during yesterday’s annual Stockholders’ Meeting wherein the following members of the Board of Directors were elected: Mr. Basilio C. Yap, Dr. Emilio C. Yap III, Dr. Crispulo J. Icban, Jr., Atty. Francis Y. Gaw, Mr. Benjamin C. Yap, and Dr. Enrique Y. Yap, Jr.

Also elected today as Independent Directors were former Chief Justice Hilario G. Davide, Jr., former Executive Secretary and Foreign Affairs Secretary Alberto G. Romulo, former Representative Maria Georgina Perez-De Venecia, and former Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas Deputy Governor Atty. Armando L. Suratos.