ADMU Board of Trustees elects first lady chairperson

Published February 25, 2020, 12:00 AM

by manilabulletin_admin

The Board of Trustees of the Ateneo de Manila University (ADMU) has elected Bernadine Siy as its chair, making her the first woman to hold the position.

The decision was made during the regular meeting of the Ateneo Board of Trustees last February 1. Siy replaced Jollibee Foods Corp. President and CEO Ernesto Tanmantiong as the chair of the Board.

Siy founded the Kenny Rogers restaurant chain in 1994 and brought Seattle’s Best Coffee to the Philippines in 2000. She served as President and CEO of the aforementioned companies until she retired in 2012. She remains a member of the board of the two organizations today.

She received her Bachelor of Arts in Economics (Honors Program) from the ADMU and graduated Magna Cum Laude. Siy also has a Masters in Management from the J.L. Kellogg Graduate School of Management Northwestern University, Chicago, USA.

Meanwhile, Dr. Chito Salazar was elected vice-chair of the Board of Trustees of the University. Atty. Jaime Hofileña and Jose Santos were named secretary and treasurer, respectively.

A new addition was also made to the board late last year with Christopher Paulus Nicolas Po serving a three-year term as a lay member. Po is the executive chairman of Century Pacific Food, Inc. and concurrently serves as the chairman of Shakey’s Pizza Asia Ventures, Inc.

Fr. Roberto Exequiel Rivera SJ, Fr. Eric Velandria, SJ, Dr. Anna Marie Karaos, and Wilson Sy were all re-elected for another three-year term as members of the Ateneo Board of Trustees.