BDO’s Nestor Tan is MAP Management Man of the Year 2019

Published October 22, 2019, 12:00 AM

by manilabulletin_admin

By Bernie Cahiles-Magkilat

The Management Association of the Philippines (MAP) today announced the selection of Mr. NESTOR V. TAN, President and CEO of BDO Unibank, Inc. as the recipient of the prestigious “MAP Management Man of the Year 2019” award.

Nestor V. Tan
Nestor V. Tan

The “MAP Management Man of the Year” award bestows on individuals in the business community or government for attaining unquestioned distinction in the practice of management and for contributing to the country’s progress. The conferment of the award follows a thorough, stringent selection process. The distinction of “MAP Management Man of the Year” has only been conferred 43 times in the five-decade history of the award.

The criteria for the award include integrity, leadership, and management qualities; contribution to nation building and values formation; effective stewardship within the confines of the highest standard of business and management practice; among others.

Tan was chosen for steering BDO to being consistently ranked by the global financial community as among the best-managed banks in the Philippines. As BDO’s top boss, Tan transformed the bank into a full-service universal bank with subsidiaries in leasing, trust, stock brokerage, private banking, rural banking and insurance, among others.

MAP also cited Tan for his leadership role in the substantial contributions of the BDO Group to national development through job creation and income generation.

Tan has contributed to the long-term development of a financial-literate citizenry by promoting financial inclusion, particularly among teachers, soldiers, OFWs and the Filipino youth. He also chose to apply his international experience towards the development of the local banking industry, MAP said.

MAP also recognized Tan for ensuring that the Filipino community receives efficient banking and financial services and for preparing a road map for the development of banking and the capital market in the future as President of the Bankers Association of the Philippines.

Tan is also known for setting an example for Filipino professional managers through a track record of integrity, professional competence and strong leadership in his banking career.

The roster of “MAP Management Man of the Year” awardees include: Washington Z. SyCip (1967), Geronimo Z. Velasco (1977), Henry A. Brimo (1978), Jose M. Soriano (1979), Cesar E.A. Virata (1981), Jaime V. Ongpin and Vicente T. Paterno (1982), Dante G. Santos (1983), Cesar A. Buenaventura and Roberto T. Villanueva (1985), Jaime Zobel de Ayala (1987), Ramon V. del Rosario, Sr. (1988), Jose B. Fernandez, Jr. (1989), Raul T. Concepcion (1990), Oscar J. Hilado (1991), Alfonso T. Yuchengco (1992), Juan B. Santos (1994), David M. Consunji and Rizalino S. Navarro (1996), Gabriel C. Singson (1998), Delfin L. Lazaro and Henry Sy, Sr. (1999), Oscar M. Lopez (2000), Tony Tan Caktiong (2002), Jesus P. Tambunting (2003), Rafael B. Buenaventura (2004), Manuel V. Pangilinan (2005), George S. K. Ty and Jaime Augusto Zobel de Ayala II (2006), Jose L. Cuisia Jr. (2007), Antonino T. Aquino and Jesus P. Estanislao (2009), Lilia B. de Lima and Ramon R. del Rosario, Jr. (2010), Erramon Aboitiz (2011), Aurelio R. Montinola III (2012), Edgar O. Chua (2013), Albert F. del Rosario (2014), Amando M. Tetangco, Jr. (2015), Teresita Sy-Coson (2016), John L. Gokongwei, Jr. (2017) and Fernando Zobel de Ayala (2018).