Duterte appoints new batch of gov't officials

By Genalyn Kabiling 

President Duterte has appointed several officials to the government, including pastor Grepor Belgica as the new Presidential adviser for religious affairs, Malacañang announced Thursday.

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte delivers his speech during the opening ceremony of the 7th Union Asia Pacific Regional Conference held at the Philippine International Convention Center in Pasay City on April 23, 2019. (KARL NORMAN ALONZO/PRESIDENTIAL PHOTO / MANILA BULLETIN) President Rodrigo Roa Duterte (KARL NORMAN ALONZO/PRESIDENTIAL PHOTO / MANILA BULLETIN)

In the appointment paper signed by the President last May 20, Belgica will have a one-peso compensation every year.

Belgica, a murder convict who spent several years in prison, was given pardon by then President Marcos in 1976. He became a preacher and author after regaining his freedom.

His son Greco Belgica is currently a commissioner of the Presidential Anti-Corruption Commission.

Apart from Belgica, the President has designated former special envoy to China Fernando Borja as his new special envoy to Japan for business and investment promotion for a term of six months.

The appointment of Almarim Tillah as special envoy of the President to the Organization of Islamic Cooperation has also been renewed by the President. His term will be from January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019.

Duterte also appointed Mudjib Compania Abu as member of the Bangsamoro Transition Authority, replacing the late Moro Islamic Liberation Front vice chair Ghazali Jaafar.

Other appointees are Jose Sylton Solidum, Assistant Cabinet Secretary; Teresita Mata-Marañon, member of the Coconut Industry Investment Fund Oil Mills Group board; Leonor Cabral-Lim, member representing the academe/research in the Philippine Council for Mental Health; Celerino Umandap, member representing the overseas Filipino workers land-based sector in the Overseas Workers Welfare Administration board of trustees;  Datu Mama Sinsuat Jr., Director IV of the National Commission on Muslim Filipinos; Rolyn Zambales, Director IV, Department of Interior and Local Government; and Judith Iris Kaye Pagsanjan, Director III, Department of Transportation.