Negros Occidental officials proclaimed

Published May 18, 2019, 2:01 PM

by Francine Ciasico

By Glazyl Masculino 

BACOLOD CITY – The Provincial Board of Canvassers proclaimed the winners of the gubernatorial and vice gubernatorial races in Negros Occidental Friday.

Vice Governor Eugenio Jose Lacson won the gubernatorial race with 827,332 against Rolando Parpa who got 45,396 votes.

Lacson was accompanied by his family during the proclamation at the Social Hall of the Provincial Capitol in Bacolod City Friday morning.

Lacson said he would take his oath of office on June 29.

In a message, he thanked the people of Negros Occidental for their overwhelming show of support.

“I am truly humbled by your trust and confidence,” he said.

“Rest assured that we will repay this support with sincere service in bringing development and change in the lives of our fellow Negrosanons,” Lacson further said.

In the afternoon, former fourth district representative Jeffrey Ferrer was elected as vice governor of the province.

He ran unopposed, garnering 680,547 votes.

Also proclaimed on May 17 were representatives from four districts – Gerardo Valmayor (first district), Leo Rafael Cueva (second district), Francisco Benitez (third district), and Juliet Marie Ferrer (fourth district).

Proclaimed last Wednesday was fifth district representative Marilou Arroyo-Lesaca, who ran unopposed, with 105,277 votes.

The following day, former vice governor Genaro Alvarez Jr. was proclaimed as representative of the sixth district. He was accompanied by his daughter, incumbent Deputy Speaker Mercedes Alvarez, during his proclamation at the Provincial Capitol.

Also proclaimed were Board Members Rommel Debulgado and Araceli Somosa of the first district, Samson Mirhan and Sixto Guanzon of the second district, Manuel Frederick Ko and former Murcia Mayor Andrew Montelibano of the third district, Jose Benito Alonso and Victor Javellana of the fourth district, Agustin Ernesto Bascon and Rita Gatuslao of the fifth district, and Valentin Miguel Alonso and Jeffrey Tubola of the sixth district.