BTS, Red Velvet win at Korean Popular Culture and Arts Awards


K-pop idol groups BTS and Red Velvet have been recognized by the Korean government for their contribution to raising awareness to popular culture and the arts.

(Top) BTS with Korean President Moon Jae-in in Paris and (bottom) Red Velvet. (Twitter) / (Top) BTS with Korean President Moon Jae-in in Paris and (bottom) Red Velvet. (Twitter)

South Korea’s Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism (MCST) announced the winners of the 2018 Korean Popular Culture and Arts Awards.

A total of 13 people have been recognized under the prestigious Order of Cultural Merit.

For the Eungwan (Silver Crown) Order of Cultural Merit, the recipients are veteran actor Lee Soon-jae, late singer Jo Dong-jin and, singer and producer Kim Min-ki.

The Bogwan (Precious Crown) awardees are veteran actress Kim Young-ok, conductor Kim Jung-taek and screenwriter Kim Ok-young.

For the Hwagwan (Flower Crown) award, all the seven members of BTS are individual recipients: RM, Suga, Jin, J-Hope, Jungkook, Jimin and V. The boys are recognized for contributing to the spread of hallyu, or Korean Wave, around the world; improvement of cultural content export; and

The recipients of the Presidential Commendation are comedian Yoo Jae-suk, actres Kim Nam-joo, singers Yoon Sang and Sim Soo-bong, voice actor Lee Kyung-ja, model Kim Dong-soo, and Kim Bul-rae.

Under the Prime Minister’s Commendation, the winners are actress Son Ye-jin, actor Lee Sun-gyun, late actor Kim Joo-hyuk, comedienne Kim Sook, singers Choi Jin-hee and Kang San-ae, voice actor Kang Hee-sun, and TV host and personality Jun Hyun-moo.

The winners of the Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism’s Commendation are girl group Red Velvet, comedienne Park Na-rae, actress Kim Tae-ri, rock band Guckkasten, voice actor Lee Sun, lyricist Kim Ea-na, technical director Kim Mi-kyung and make-up artist Kang Dae-young.

An awards ceremony will be held on Oct. 24 to fete the winners.