DENR to Central Visayas LGUs: Review geohazard maps, minimize storm damage

By Minerva BC Newman

CEBU CITY -The Department of Environment and Natural Resources-Central Visayas (DENR 7) urged local government units to revisit the geohazard maps issued to them by the Mines and Geoscience Bureau (MGB-7) on landslides and flooding advisories amid the fury of typhoon Ompong in Luzon and parts of the Visayas.

DENR-7 regional director Gilbert Gonzales on Friday stressed the importance of reviewing the geohazard maps and implement the necessary measures in landslide and flood-prone areas to reduce casualties and damage to property in Central Visayas.

According to MGB-7 regional director Loreto Alburo, preventive actions should be strictly carried out in areas declared as ‘susceptible’ to either landslide or flooding.

Alburo advised officials to use the information, findings and recommendations provided along with the geohazard maps to enhance disaster risk reduction efforts.

Cebu landslide risks

Cebu City has 19 barangays that are highly susceptible to landslides, namely Adlaon, Banilad, Buhisan, Budlaan, Busay, Guadalupe, Guba, Lahug, Lusaran, Malubog, Pamutan, Paril, Pulangbato, Pung-ol Sibugay, Sapangdako, Sirao, Tagba-o, Taptap and To-ong, as shown on the geohazard map.

Other areas that are highly susceptible to landslides include Barangays Alpaco, Bairan, Cantao-an, Lanas, Mainit, Mayana, Naalad, Patag, Tinaan and Uling in City of Naga.

Likewise identified as susceptible areas are fourteen barangays in Balamban - Bayong, Buanoy, Cabagdalan, Cabasiangan, Cansomoroy, Duangan, Gaas, Ginatilan, Lamesa, Luca, Magsaysay, Matun-og, Prenza and Vito; seven barangays in Talisay City - Candulawan, Jaclupan, lagtang, Lawaan III, Manipis, Tapul and Sto.Niño and three barangays in Minglanilla - Cadulawan, Cuanos and Manduang.

Cebu flood risks

According to Alburo, there are 20 barangays in Cebu City identified as highly susceptible to flooding.

The list includes Bacayan, Cambinucot, Cogon Ramos, Day-as, Guadalupe, Hipodromo, Kamagayan, Labangon, Lusaran, Mabolo, Parian, Pit-os, Pulangbato, San Jose, Sapangdako, T. Padilla, Tinago, Tisa and To-ong;

In Naga City, identified flood-prone areas are Barangays Alpaco, Bairan, Inayagan, Langtad, Lutac, Mainit, Tagjaquimit, and Tinaan as well as 12 barangays in Talisay City,
Biasong, Candulawan, Dumlog, Lagtang, Lawaan II, Lawaan III, Linao, Pooc, San Isidro, San Roque, Tangke and Tapul and six barangays in Minglanilla, Cuanos, Linao, Pakigne, Tubod, Tungkil and Vito.


In Bohol, areas with moderate to high susceptibility to landslide and flooding inclide the municipalities of Duero, Guindulman, Jagna, Pilar, Sierra Bollunes, Bien Unido, Candijay, Anda, Mabini, Alicia, Loboc, Batuan, Dagohoy, Dimiao and Garcia Hernandez.

Negros Oriental

In Negros Oriental, some parts of Ayungon, Jimalalud, San Jose, Sibulan, Tayasan, Valencia, Amlan, Bacong, Dauin, Zamboanguita and Dumaguete City were also identified as susceptible areas.


In Siquijor, municipalities with landslide prone areas are San Juan, Siquijor and Lazi while flood prone areas were identified in all five municipalities of the province.

Map access

To facilitate easy access of the geohazards maps, the said maps in a 1-50,000-scale are now available and downloadable in three government websites;,,, and