126 PDLs set for release on Independence Day -- BuCor

A total of 126 persons deprived of liberty (PDLs) will be released on Wednesday, June 12, during the country's celebration of its 126th Independence Day., the Bureau of Corrections (BuCor) said.

Set for release simultaneously from BuCor's prison facilities are 31 PDLs who had been acquitted by the courts; one who had been granted conditional pardon; 72 who had served their jail terms; six who had been granted probation; and 16 who had been paroled.

Of those set for release, 11 PDLs are from the Correctional Institution for Women (CIW) in Mandaluyong City; five from CIW in Mindanao; 22 from Davao Prison and Penal Farm (DPPF), one from Iwahig Prison and Penal Farm (IPPF), eight from Leyte Regional Prison (LRP); 34 from the New Bilibid Prison (NBP) Maximum Security Camp; 18 from NBP Medium Security Camp; six from NBP Minimum Security Camp; three from NBP Reception and Diagnostic Center; eight from Sablayan Prison and Penal Farm (SPPF); and 10 from San Ramon Prison and Penal Farm (SRPPF).

“Not everybody was given a second chance, so kapag binigay ang chance na ganito sa iyo make sure na worth it ka at huwag mo sayangin (when there is a chance like this you make sure that it worth it and not waste it), “ BuCor Director General Gregorio Pio P. Catapang Jr. told the PDLs who would be released.

The release of the 126 PDLs would bring to 14,324 the total number of PDLs freed since the start of the administration of President Marcos, Bucor said.