Paul McCartney to induct Foo Fighters into Rock & Roll Hall of Fame

Published October 20, 2021, 7:28 AM

by Punch Liwanag

Foo Fighters from Rolling Stone magazine

Former Beatle will induct Dave Grohl and rest of Foo Fighters in upcoming rock and roll celebration.

Sir Paul McCartney and Dave Grohl have become tight friends since they first met back in 2002. McCartney even recorded a song with Dave Grohl and the remaining members of Nirvana (bassist Krist Novoselic and guitarist Pat Smear) titled “Cut Me Some Slack” for the 2013 film “Sound City.” Dave Grohl has performed McCartney-written Beatles songs for the Grammy Awards (“Blackbird”) and a classic Wings hit (“Band On The Run”) when the latter was honored during former US President Barack Obama’s term at the Whitehouse.

Now McCartney will return the favor as he inducts Dave Grohl and the rest of Foo Fighters – drummer Taylor Hawkins, bassist Nate Mendel, guitarists Chris Shiflett and Pat Smear and keyboardist Rami Jaffee – to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame on October 30. The ceremony will be held at the Rocket Mortgage Fieldhouse. This will be Dave Grohl’s second time to be inducted, the first being with Nirvana with Kurt Cobain and Krist Novoselic back in 2014.

Other deserving rock and roll greats will also be honored at said event. This includes influential all-female rock and pop band The Go-Go’s with Drew Barrymore inducting.

Paul McCartney (Facebook)

Pop superstar Taylor Swift will be on hand to induct pop songwriting legend and singer Carole King. Swift and Jennifer Hudson are scheduled to perform some of King’s hits.

Actress Angela Bassett will induct Tina Turner. The former portrayed the latter in the 1993 biopic “What’s Love Got To Do With It.” Christina Aguilera, Bryan Adams, H.E.R. and Mickey Guyton are set to perform Turner’s hits.

Other honorees this year are music executive, entrepreneur and film producer Clarence Avant who will be presented the Ahmet Ertegun Award by Lionel Richie.

Other honorees include LL Cool J, Jay-Z, Todd Rundgren and specialty award recipients Kraftwerk, Blues musician Charley Patton, Gil Scott-Heron, pianist-keyboardist and singer Billy Preston and rock guitarist Randy Rhoads.