3 DOST execs among this year’s CESB awardees

Published August 28, 2020, 3:59 PM

by Jeffrey Damicog

Department of Science and Technology (DOST) Sec. Fortunato de la Pena on Friday congratulated in a Facebook post Usec. Rowena Cristina Guevara, Region 2 Regional Dir. Sancho Mabborang, and CALABARZON Regional Dir. Alexander Madrigal for receiving this year’s Presidential Gawad Career Executive Service Board (CESB) Awards.

(L-R) CALABARZON Regional Dir. Alexander Madrigal, DOST Usec. Rowena Cristina Guevara, and Region 2 Regional Dir. Sancho Mabborang (DOST / MANILA BULLETIN)

“Usec. Guevara and Director Madrigal were two out of the five 2018 Awardees while Director Mabborang is one of the five 2019 Awardees,” dela Pena noted.

“The 2018 and 2019 Awardees were honored by the Career Executive Service Board (CESB) in the Awarding Ceremonies last 25 August 2020,” he added.

The secretary indicated that Guevara was awarded for spearheading the development and enhancement of key technologies leading to the launch of the country’s first microsatellite called “Diwata” as well as for updating the flood hazard maps in 18 major river basins important to preventing disasters.

Mabborang was recognized for his active and sustainable implementation of the Small Enterprise Technology Upgrading Program, among the micro, small and medium enterprises.

De la Pena also noted Madrigal was awarded for having conceptualized and implemented the Information and Communications Technology (ICT)-based strategies for disaster risk management as well as for strengthening the Provincial Science and Technology Center.