Standhardinger to Team Scottie, Fajardo to Team Japeth in first PBA All-Star draft

Scottie Thompson made Ginebra teammate and big man Christian Standhardinger the first pick while Japeth Aguilar selected long-time Gilas Pilipinas frontcourt partner June Mar Fajardo in the historic PBA All-Star draft on Monday, Feb. 20 at the TV5 Center in Mandaluyong.

PBA All-Star captains Japeth Aguilar (left) and Scottie Thompson (PBA Images)

Team Scottie, which will be handled by head coach Yeng Guiao, also picked Ginebra teammate Stanley Pringle, Calvin Abueva and Mark Barroca of Magnolia, Robert Bolick and Arvin Tolentino of NorthPort, Kevin Alas of NLEX, Jayson Castro of TNT, Marcio Lassiter of San Miguel and James Yap of Rain or Shine.

Mentored by Kings coach Tim Cone, Team Aguilar, meanwhile, has Ginebra teammates LA Tenorio, Jamie Malonzo, Jeremiah Gray and Nards Pinto, Meralco’s Chris Newsome, TNT’s RR Pogoy and Mikey Williams, Magnolia’s Paul Lee, Rain or Shine’s Gian Mamuyac, and SMB’s Terrence Romeo.

Aguilar, who obviously enjoyed the experience of drafting his fellow PBA stars, was happy with the way how the draft turned out for his team although he admitted still has one issue that needs to be addressed.

“Very happy siguro yung kailangan na lang namin ipractice is ‘yung sa sayaw,” said Aguilar in jest. “I thought yung nga we’ll just gonna go over it but ang hirap. It’s not easy.”

“Sarap sa mata,” raved Thompson. “Happy kami especially nakuha namin yung mga gusto namin and of course nakuha namin yung mga ayoko na bantayan,” he added.

Aside from the draft for the All-Star Game, which will be the main event of the three-day festivities from March 9 to 12, the Rookie-Sophomore-Junior event also held their draft with ROS assistant Caloy Garcia picking for the Team Stalwarts and Ginebra deputy Richard Del Rosario selecting for Team Greats.

Team Stalwarts will be bannered by first pick Brandon Ganuelas-Rosser joining a potent crew of Calvin Oftana, Joshua Munzon, Encho Serrano, Anton Asistio, Tyler Tio, Shaun Ildefonso, Matt and Mike Nieto, and Aris Dionisio.

Team Greats, on the other hand, will be led by rookies Justin Arana and Ato Ular, and joined by Aaron Black, Jerrick Balanza, Allyn Bulanadi, Jerrick Ahanmisi, Adrian Wong, RK ilagan, Javi Gomez de Liano, and Isaac Go.

“Unang una nagpapasalamat po ang PBA family sa mga ginugol niyong oras panahon para pumunta sa venues para bumoto, sa online. Sa mga fans po maraming salamat po sa inyo sa pagsuporta niyo sa PBA,” said PBA commissioner Willie Marcial.