Baguio, QC DRRMOs, Ifugao native bag ‘KLIMA-likasan' awards for disaster resiliency

Recognizing their significant actions at times of disasters and calamities, the disaster risk reduction and management offices (DRRMO) of the cities of Baguio and Quezon and an Ifugao native have been awarded as the top winners of this year’s “Mga Kwentong KLIMA-likasan: A Climate and Disaster Resiliency Recognition Awards”.


Presented by the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR), through its Climate Change Service (CCS) and Gender and Development Office, in partnership with Globe Telecom, the KLIMA-likasan Awards recognized the stories of individuals, groups, and provincial local government units (LGUs) in addressing climate change and disasters in communities.

"The stories that we received from 16 regions in the country only say one thing: there are already significant actions happening on the ground. We need to take note of them, document them, map them and see how we can scale up the initiatives to expand to other areas in their community,” said Undersecretary for Finance, Information Systems and Climate Change Analiza Rebuelta-Teh.

The awards are in line with the celebration of the 2022 National Climate Change Consciousness Week, which carries the theme, "Sama-Samang Tumutugon sa Hamon ng Nagbabagong Klima.”

“Our recognition scheme aims to feature the long track record and important contributions and initiatives in the environment, climate change, and disaster risk management," DENR CCS Director Elenida Basug noted.

Six entries bagged the first and second places of KLIMA-likasan Awards under three categories (Individual, Group, and LGU), while another six received special citations—Gender Equality, Women’s Empowerment, and Climate Change Award, and Climate Technology for Resilience Award.

The Baguio City DRRMO took home a cash prize of P80,000 for being the KLIMA-likasan Awards first placer and recipient of the Climate Technology for Resilience Special Citation under the LGU category. Its winning entry, “The Baguio City Smart and Gender-inclusive Flood Early Warning Information and Mitigation System”, took a holistic, nature-based, gender-sensitive, and socially inclusive approach to address the city’s challenges.

Meanwhile, the Quezon City DRRMO bagged the first place and the Climate Technology for Resilience Special Citation under the group category for their entry “iRISE UP” (Intelligent, Resilient, and Integrated Systems for the Urban Population), receiving a total cash prize of P60,000. iRISE UP is an early warning system that organizes and streamlines the DRRM information system of Quezon City so that advisories are quickly disseminated to communities.

For the individual category, Moises Butic won first place with a cash prize of P30,000 for his entry “The Ifugao Muyong: Perpetuating a Forest Legacy.” Proudly nominated by Ifugao Governor Jerry Dalipog, Butic’s story is about the indigenous practice inherited by the Ifugaos from their ancestors called “Muyong System,” which is a forest management system that supports biodiversity conservation and climate change adaptation.

Other major prize winners and special citation awardees and their corresponding cash prizes are Cagayan LGU for “Restoring Cagayan River: A H.O.P.E. to Build Back Life Better” (second place for LGU category with a prize of P40,000); Kabasalan National High School’s Youth for Environment in Schools Organization of Balintawak, Pagadian City for “Adopt-a-watershed program” (second place for group category winning P30,000); Mayor Leopoldo Bataoil of Lingayen, Pangasinan for “The Rebirth of our Philippine Ylang-ylang” and (second place for individual category taking home P20,000).

For the Gender Equality, Women’s Empowerment, and Climate Change Award, the winners are Baliwag, Bulacan LGU for “Baliwag Environmental Convergence Program” (LGU category, winning P30,000); Bayawon Lucday Lungayan Pendonay Tandacol Tribal Association, Inc. (BLLuPenTTrAs, Inc.) for “The Glimpse of P.O BLLuPenTTrAs Initiatives and Best Practices in Fighting Climate Change” (group category, winning P20,000); and Grachelle Andrea B. Guevarra for “I CAN make a difference” (individual category, winning P10,000). For the Climate Technology and Resilience Award, Reheemah Hafsah Pangarungan won for “BioPhil” (individual category, winning P10,000).

The DENR received 60 entries from 16 regions all over the country. All entries were evaluated based on the following criteria: climate and disaster resiliency content, 60 percent; visual appeal of the photographs and video, 20 percent; gender fair text and media, 10 percent; and geographical reach of the initiative, 10 percent.

The winning stories will be submitted to the Good Stories Movement, a global initiative led by people who aim to recognize the “good stories of good people who are caring for the Land, Air, and Water (LAW) of Life.”